Search Results: "Janni Lee Simner"


BOOK REVIEW

BONES OF FAERIE by Janni Lee Simner
FANTASY
Released: Jan. 27, 2009

"With its dark, sharply imagined world, this will appeal to readers of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. (Science fiction/fantasy. 12-16)"
Magic in Liza's barren town is verboten due to a disastrous war with Faerie, and those who are magical are thought to be evil. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIEF EYES by Janni Lee Simner
ADVENTURE
Released: April 27, 2010

"Light, romantic fiction with an engaging fantasy punch. (Fantasy. 12-15)"
When 16-year-old Haley accompanies her geologist father to Iceland, she's determined to discover exactly what happened the previous year when her mother disappeared. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SECRET OF THE THREE TREASURES by Janni Lee Simner
ADVENTURE
Released: June 1, 2006

"Fine fare for recent Cam Jansen and Encyclopedia Brown graduates. (Fiction. 9-11)"
A young adventurer-in-training keeps her wits about her and her eyes on the prize despite an uncooperative mother, snickering classmates and her own clumsiness—for there is Lost Treasure to be found, and more, in her seemingly ordinary Connecticut town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAERIE AFTER by Janni Lee Simner
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 28, 2013

"In a satisfying trilogy conclusion, Liza confronts the conflicts between saving the world and saving her friends in an environment where nobody is willing to let go of the last generation's hatreds. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
With the faerie and mortal lands crumbling away, a teenage girl must work with both worlds if anyone is to survive. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAERIE WINTER by Janni Lee Simner
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 5, 2011

"Graphic descriptions of murdered children push the story older than the reading level of its prose, but that just leaves it as an entertaining if quick adventure for those impatiently awaiting the next, heftier entry by Cassandra Clare or Julie Kagawa. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
In the post-apocalyptic world left after the war between the human realm and Faerie, it's been winter for very long time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YELLOW by Janni Visman
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 20, 2005

"Captivating, like Ruth Rendell at her best, but with a mordant hipness that marks the welcome U.S. debut of British novelist Visman."
In an erotic psychological thriller, a young agoraphobic suspects her lover of leading a double life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JAMMY DANCE by Rebecca Janni
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 2012

"With the glut of sleepy-time stories out there, this offering does not bring much new to the bedside table. (Picture book. 1-4)"
Going to bed doesn't rank high on most children's lists of favorite activities, and Janni and Dockray's attempt to transform the nighttime routine into a rollicking good time is something of a snooze. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERY COWGIRL NEEDS A HORSE by Rebecca Janni
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2010

"The glittery stars and hearts on the cover may lure readers into Nellie Sue's pink cowgirl world, but it's her hopeful, unbroken spirit that'll win 'em over. (Picture book. 4-6)"
City-dwellin', country-talkin' Nellie Sue, "a cowgirl from head to toe," wants a horse more than anything and fully expects to receive one on her birthday. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SOME SUNNY READING FOR A STRANGE SPRING
by Bobbi Dumas

Is spring a little wiggy for you this year? In Wisconsin, it really can’t figure out what it wants to do. A week or so ago it was a sunny eighty degrees and now it’s cool and rainy, hovering around fifty. Thankfully there are so many bright books releasing these days that we can find sun in their pages, if ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TOPIARY GARDEN by Janni Howker
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 1, 1995

"Thoughtful readers shouldn't be bothered by the many Briticisms, but there's an appended glossary just in case. (Fiction. 12+)"
Stomping down the road, away from her all-male family in a rage, Liz meets ancient Sally Beck, who invites her into the local manor's topiary garden to hear how she once became a boy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERY COWGIRL LOVES A RODEO by Rebecca Janni
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 24, 2012

"Terrific for cowgirls and bike riders everywhere. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Giddy-up, bicycle girl! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERY COWGIRL NEEDS DANCING BOOTS by Rebecca Janni
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 9, 2011

"A passel of fun activities—dancing, crafting, biking and dress up—are tucked into Janni's tonic tale of imagination and optimism. (Picture book. 3-5)"
What better way to make friends than throwing a party? Read full book review >