Search Results: "Jared Duval"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 9, 2010

"Well-intentioned but repetitive and too hypothetical."
Political treatise suggesting that the wired and tolerant under-30 "millennials" must apply open-source principles to the process of governance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SEARCH FOR KATE DUVAL by Jr. Edwards
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"One-dimensional characters and sketchy plotting make for a deeply flawed love story, although the prevailing mood of catastrophic midlife crisis seems genuine enough."
A winter-summer relationship ends tragically, leaving the older man grieving in his beloved's snowbound trailer, feeding carrots to her horse and reading her family history: an awkard near-parody by the respected author of Peggy SaltÇ (1983). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A CHILD OF RAPE by John duVal
Released: Jan. 15, 2011

"A rollicking, complex read.
"
A densely plotted, gay coming-of-age novel starring the talented Erik, whose lengthy history is half hard-boiled Jim Thompson mayhem and half Martha Grimes youthful fantasia, heavily laden with crime, war (both international and domestic), alcoholism and, ultimately, personal triumph. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 15, 2011

"Achieves the neat trick of presenting moral values in a persuasive and uplifting way without being preachy or boring.
"
In this novel by a 9/11 survivor, chance plays a major role in the lives of two best friends—but character plays an even bigger one. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REAR VIEW by Pete Duval
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 28, 2004

"Still, an impressive start for this Bakeless Prize winner (2003) with a lean, efficient style and an understanding of the brutality of life on the economic margins."
Twelve stories, many set in New Bedford, in the tradition of Andre Dubus and Raymond Carver, illuminate the lives of working-class people with moments of rare beauty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRUITS IN SUITS by Jared Chapman
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 2017

"These fruits do not make a large enough splash in the pool; for the best fruit in the basket, check out the old favorite, Sexton Freymann and Joost Elffers' How Are You Peeling? (2004). (Picture book. 3-6)"
Chapman (Vegetables in Underwear, 2015) is back with digital illustrations featuring anthropomorphic fruits. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STEVE, RAISED BY WOLVES by Jared Chapman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Whether readers extrapolate from Steve's experiences to their own is open to question, but the story's message of the need to balance individuality with group expectations is neatly presented. (Picture book. 5-8)"
As the title indicates, Chapman plays with the raised-by-wolves trope in this first-day-of-school book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VEGETABLES IN UNDERWEAR by Jared Chapman
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 7, 2015

"Those who are making the transition from diapers are sure to laugh, though it doesn't really stand out from the other books in the underwear drawer. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A survey of underwear and opposites is leavened (as if talk of underwear needs to be made funnier) by anthropomorphized veggies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BEAR'S YEAR by Kathy Duval
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"A slow, soft read-aloud, good for bedtime or when Bear Snores On is too rowdy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In short rhyming text, a mother bear and her cubs experience a year of changing seasons until it's time to hibernate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INDEPENDENCE LOST by Kathleen DuVal
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 7, 2015

"An illuminating history of events, many barely mentioned in history books and none, unlike our Revolution, with happy endings."
An informative and disturbing account of a little-known campaign during the Colonial rebellion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIRATE, VIKING & SCIENTIST by Jared Chapman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2014

"Waging peace through…science! That this debut is as funny as it is sneakily informative is icing on the cake. (glossary) (Picture book. 5-7)"
In a clear triumph for the scientific method, a young researcher systematically discovers how to keep his two close friends from punching each other out every time they meet. Read full book review >