Search Results: "Jay McInerney"


BOOK REVIEW

MODEL BEHAVIOR by Jay McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 27, 1998

"Droll, sharp-edged fun."
A mordantly funny portrait of the incestuous, fame-addled worlds of publishing and celebrity journalism, as viewed through the eyes of a frantinally lovelorn writer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GOOD LIFE by Jay McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2006

"The title suggests a number of questions—What constitutes the good life? Is it possible to sustain it in post-9/11 New York? Can it be bought? Or earned?—that the author fails to resolve."
McInerney's novel of 9/11 and its aftershocks offers acute cultural observation before sinking into a sappy romance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIGHT, PRECIOUS DAYS by Jay McInerney
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"Whether you love him or hate him, this novel is just what you're expecting from McInerney. So he must be doing it on purpose."
McInerney returns to Russell and Corrine Calloway, the protagonists of his last two novels—call it The Adventures of Mr. and Mrs. Fancy Pants, Volume III: The Cialis Years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE JUICE by Jay McInerney
NON-FICTION
Released: May 8, 2012

"Much of the material here sounds like it was more fun to research than to write or read."
Another collection of the acclaimed writer's wine journalism, dominated by short pieces for the Wall Street Journal, some of which seem to have been decanting for too long. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW IT ENDED by Jay McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 10, 2009

"The wit and the engaging voice in the best of these stories aren't enough to offset the impression that neither the third nor the second acts of the novelist's career have fulfilled the promise or equaled the accomplishment of the first."
From McInerney (The Good Life, 2006, etc.), a collection of 26 stories spanning some three decades. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST OF THE SAVAGES by Jay McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 16, 1996

From the hokey title to the sentimental insight of the last line, McInerney's latest yuppie melodrama (Brightness Falls, 1992, etc.) at best recalls the social-climbing novels of John O'Hara. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIGHTNESS FALLS by Jay McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 8, 1992

"And he can probably take that to the bank, no matter how much it wounds his literary credit."
His own career very much a creation of 80's hype, McInerney here attempts an unironic post-mortem on the era of leveraged buyouts and consumer excess. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GLORIOUS HERESIES by Lisa McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"This is a colorful, ambitious first outing that recalls Dylan Thomas' comment on Flann O'Brien's At Swim-Two-Birds: 'Just the book to give your sister, if she is a dirty, boozey girl.'"
Drink, drugs, and religion are the familiar demons hounding young and old in Cork City, Ireland, where an accidental murder darkens several lives in this vibrant debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLO FROM THE GILLESPIES by Monica McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"In a book written with humor and charm, family members show the best of themselves after the people on their wife and mother's mailing list saw them at their worst."
McInerney (The House of Memories, 2014, etc.) serves up a satisfying family drama stemming from a fed-up woman finally coming clean in her traditional Christmas letter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ALPHABET SISTERS by Monica McInerney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2005

"In the tradition of Binchy and McMurtry, Australian author McInerny manipulates plot- and heart-strings unapologetically."
Sibling rivalry and sisterly devotion mix it up in South Australia—in McInerney's American debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

the Limbic Highway by Philip McInerney
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 30, 2014

"A compelling idea for a novel that suffers from bizarre worldbuilding, a slight plot and underdeveloped characters."
In McInerney's debut sci-fi novel, the spirit of Benjamin Franklin teaches a young man how to cleanse his neighbors' psyches of "evil bulges." Read full book review >