Search Results: "Jeffrey Brown"


BOOK REVIEW

RETURN OF THE PADAWAN! by Jeffrey Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 29, 2014

"Future installments—and further disasters—will be most welcome. (Graphic fantasy. 8-12)"
The line between humor and heartbreak is very thin in this new Star Wars graphic novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JEDI ACADEMY by Jeffrey Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Sacrilege of the most satisfying kind. (Graphic fantasy. 8-12)"
Even the most critical Star Wars fans will give Lucasfilm points for licensing this subversive graphic novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PHANTOM BULLY by Jeffrey Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 28, 2015

"Everybody's middle school years should be as ultimately satisfying as Roan's, whether they are Jedis-in-training or not. (Graphic fantasy. 8-12)"
Perhaps playing off the principle that a great ending will mitigate almost anything, this story has at least a dozen endings, and all of them are pretty spectacular. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STONE COLD AGE by Jeffrey Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"Captivated kids will be happy to see that Book 3 is on its way. (Graphic historical fiction. 9-12)"
Neanderthal siblings return for a blustery infoventure in the Ice Age. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LUCY & ANDY NEANDERTHAL by Jeffrey Brown
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"Read solely as fiction, this is an auspiciously clever and engaging series opener. (Graphic historical fiction. 7-12)"
Two Neanderthal preteens weave a tale of everyday life to which even modern kids can relate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE THINGS by Jeffrey Brown
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2008

"Unprepossessing but also winning snapshots of varying (non)importance from an unremarkable life that pretends to be nothing but. Could easily appeal to those new to the genre."
More autobiographical sketches, in no particular order, from Chicago graphic artist Brown (Cat Getting out of a Bag and Other Observations, 2007, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A MATTER OF LIFE by Jeffrey Brown
Released: June 1, 2013

"Intermittently engaging, but there are more questions than answers here."
In this graphic memoir, a Midwestern preacher's son loses his faith and discovers art. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE IS IN THE AIR - #RITAGH
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s an exciting week in the romance world! On Tuesday, RWA announced the finalists in the RITA and Golden Heart contests. (You can find the full list here.)

For those of you who may not know, the Golden Heart is Romance Writers of America’s contest for unpublished authors.

Some of my favorite authors and friends of Read-A-Romance made the RITA ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

JOSEPH FINK & JEFFREY CRANOR
by Clayton Moore

Writing a second novel set in the weird world of Welcome to Night Vale was something of a litmus test for authors Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor, reached by Kirkus separately by phone on the eve of their European tour. The new novel, It Devours! follows up their debut novel Welcome to Night Vale; it’s a thriller that Kirkus calls ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

IN FULL FLIGHT WITH GREG PIZZOLI
by Julie Danielson

The start of a new year is always exciting for readers. We envision brand-spankin’-new books from our favorite authors and new artwork from illustrators whose work we love to see. Look past our shoulders and you’ll see crossed fingers that our favorite writers and artists have something in store for us.

Most surprising of all is when we get ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WHO BROKE THE VASE? by Jeffrey Turner
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 4, 2017

"An interesting debut, one that may instigate discussion, emotion, and, yes, even laughs. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A broken vase, an eyewitness, and a cast of improbable suspects lead to one surprise ending in this celebration of the whopper. Read full book review >