Search Results: "Jennifer Marquart"


BOOK REVIEW

TWO OR THREE YEARS LATER by Ror Wolf
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 18, 2013

"The best of these stories create an atmosphere of whimsy and menace."
This collection of short fiction interrogates the conventions of storytelling and obliterates the norms of psychological realism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2006

"Evocative, fresh and lovely, if incomplete."
A memoir in the tradition of William Least Heat-Moon and Larry Wiowode about growing up in rural North Dakota. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HUNGER BONE by Debra Marquart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2001

"Despite a certain repetitiveness, Marquart brings the rock 'n' roll subculture to intense if desperate life."
Twenty-two stark, darkly tinted snapshots of life on the road, and occasionally at home, for small-time rock 'n' roll musicians, singers, and hangers-on. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WHEN HISTORY IS BURIED ALONGSIDE THE BODIES
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Dreamland Burning by Jennifer Latham

Cover Story: Big Face Split Screen
BFF Charm: Yay
Swoonworthy Scale: 1
Talky Talk: She Said, He Said
Bonus Factors: Awesome Grownups
Relationship Status: So This Is Love

Cover Story: Big Face Split Screen

As a rule, I generally don’t like Big Face covers, and as with all rules, there are exceptions ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

UH-OH, DODO! by Jennifer Sattler
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"A charming, cozy read-aloud with lots of visual interest. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A clueless little dodo stumbles into several adventures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FUNNY LITTLE BIRD by Jennifer Yerkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2013

"This highly original and thought-provoking picture book will appeal to the peek-a-boo sensibilities of the youngest readers and also have aesthetic appeal for parents. (Picture book. 2-5)"
The funny little white bird is almost invisible against his white background, unnoticed and, consequently, sad. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHICK 'N' PUG MEET THE DUDE by Jennifer Sattler
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 25, 2013

"Skip this one in favor of Sattler's Uh-Oh, Dodo! (2013) and Pig Kahuna (2011). (Picture book. 3-6)"
Odd-couple friends Chick and Pug return in a nonsensical tale so slender that it barely registers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE YOU LATER, MOM! by Jennifer Northway
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2006

"This straightforward tale of a boy's adjustment to preschool is not a new story, but the presence of children of various races adds a realistic touch, and it will provide warmth and reassurance to children who may be nervous about starting school. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Many children are anxious about starting school, and William is no exception. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SEED BUNNY by Jennifer  Selby
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 1997

"An ebullient take on an important rite of passage. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Selby (Beach Bunny, 1996) offers another affectionate and accurate portrayal of the bond between parents and preschoolers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIG KAHUNA PIRATES! by Jennifer Sattler
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 8, 2014

"Here's hoping that this welcome return presages plenty of additional adventures. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Fans of porcine siblings Fergus and Dink's first outing will be thrilled to welcome them back to the beach, while pirate-loving listeners (familiar or not) will be particularly pleased. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A CHICK 'N' PUG CHRISTMAS by Jennifer Sattler
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 9, 2014

"Pug needs to retire to the land of unmotivated characters, and Chick deserves his own show next time. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Lethargic Pug dresses like Santa to celebrate Christmas with his best friend, energetic little Chick, in their third outing together. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IT'S HALLOWEEN NIGHT! by Jennifer O'Connell
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2012

"Get ready for enthusiastic participation, and do not forget to find the small spider placed on each spread. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Looking for a simple title about Halloween for the youngest readers? Rhyming text sets up an interactive guessing game that may just be the treat to share with the toddler and early-preschool set. Read full book review >