Search Results: "Jennifer Marquart"


BOOK REVIEW

TWO OR THREE YEARS LATER by Ror Wolf
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 18, 2013

"The best of these stories create an atmosphere of whimsy and menace."
This collection of short fiction interrogates the conventions of storytelling and obliterates the norms of psychological realism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2006

"Evocative, fresh and lovely, if incomplete."
A memoir in the tradition of William Least Heat-Moon and Larry Wiowode about growing up in rural North Dakota. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HUNGER BONE by Debra Marquart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2001

"Despite a certain repetitiveness, Marquart brings the rock 'n' roll subculture to intense if desperate life."
Twenty-two stark, darkly tinted snapshots of life on the road, and occasionally at home, for small-time rock 'n' roll musicians, singers, and hangers-on. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BEST BOOKS OF 2017: JENNIFER EGAN
by Rachel Sugar

Manhattan Beach is not the novel Jennifer Egan set out to write, in large part because Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize winner, doesn’t write by following plans. “I don’t really know what I’m going to do before I do it,” she tells me over salads—she recommends the arugula, “if you’re in a salad-y mood, it’s very salad-y”—at Olea in her ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

GO ASK ALICE WHAT REALLY HAPPENED
by Jennie K.

 

BOOK REPORT for The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu

Cover Story: Sticks and Stones

BFF Charm: Maybe

Swoonworthy Scale: 3

Talky Talk: Just the Facts, Ma’am

Anti-Bonus Factor: Small-Minded Small Town

Relationship Status: See You at School

 

Cover Story: Sticks and Stones

The cover brings to mind the old chestnut, “Sticks and stones may break my bones ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MAP ME A WAY TO YOUR HEART
by Sarah Pitre

 

BOOK REPORT for The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

Cover Story: The Geography of Jennifer E. Smith
BFF Charm: Maybe x 2
Swoonworthy Scale: 4
Talky Talk: The School of Sarah Dessen
Bonus Factors: Globetrotting, Postcards
Relationship Status: Vacation Hook-up

Cover Story: The Geography of Jennifer E. Smith

This is Jennifer E. Smith's third ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

UH-OH, DODO! by Jennifer Sattler
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"A charming, cozy read-aloud with lots of visual interest. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A clueless little dodo stumbles into several adventures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FUNNY LITTLE BIRD by Jennifer Yerkes
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2013

"This highly original and thought-provoking picture book will appeal to the peek-a-boo sensibilities of the youngest readers and also have aesthetic appeal for parents. (Picture book. 2-5)"
The funny little white bird is almost invisible against his white background, unnoticed and, consequently, sad. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHICK 'N' PUG MEET THE DUDE by Jennifer Sattler
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 25, 2013

"Skip this one in favor of Sattler's Uh-Oh, Dodo! (2013) and Pig Kahuna (2011). (Picture book. 3-6)"
Odd-couple friends Chick and Pug return in a nonsensical tale so slender that it barely registers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEE YOU LATER, MOM! by Jennifer Northway
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2006

"This straightforward tale of a boy's adjustment to preschool is not a new story, but the presence of children of various races adds a realistic touch, and it will provide warmth and reassurance to children who may be nervous about starting school. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Many children are anxious about starting school, and William is no exception. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SEED BUNNY by Jennifer  Selby
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 1997

"An ebullient take on an important rite of passage. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Selby (Beach Bunny, 1996) offers another affectionate and accurate portrayal of the bond between parents and preschoolers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIG KAHUNA PIRATES! by Jennifer Sattler
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 8, 2014

"Here's hoping that this welcome return presages plenty of additional adventures. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Fans of porcine siblings Fergus and Dink's first outing will be thrilled to welcome them back to the beach, while pirate-loving listeners (familiar or not) will be particularly pleased. Read full book review >