Search Results: "Jenny Beth Martin"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 17, 2012

"Like-minded readers will find this book inspiring and invaluable. Others may find it overly strident at worst or a political curiosity at best."
The founders of Tea Party Patriots, Inc., explain their movement and its plan "to restore America to greatness." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRACKED by Jenny Martin
Released: May 5, 2015

"Genre fans will find that the strong action helps to compensate for flaws. (Dystopian romance. 12 & up)"
A rebellious street urchin is coerced into driving a race car for an oppressive corporation that rules her planet. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

MARKED by Jenny Martin
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 17, 2016

"Derivative, fast-paced brain candy. (Dystopian adventure. 12 & up)"
Fugitive Phee and the rebellion face off against villainous tyrant King Charlie in this duology closer. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

OFF TO SUMMER CAMP
by Leila Roy

The summer camp book that I covered earlier this week wasn’t a great fit for me.

It’s also been a couple of years since I’ve put together a list of recent summer camp books.

Looks like it’s time to take a look around and see what other camp books have cropped up over the last few years!

Camp Dork, by ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S ACTIVITY ATLAS by Jenny Slater
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Unsuitable for classroom or library shelves but serviceable for solo use. (index) (Nonfiction. 6-8)"
A learning tool for budding geographers, this first world atlas comes with hundreds of stickers, a sheet of detachable postcards and other reinforcement materials. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ONE TRUE OCEAN by Sarah Beth Martin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"A sincere first effort gets mired in the plot's undertow."
A shapely meandering debut explores the hazards of lying to the children. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

CELEBRATE SPRING WITH ROMANCE
by Leila Roy

The sun is shining, all of the trees have buds, the garlic in our garden is growing a mile a minute, the birds are making a racket, and both of the cats dragged chipmunks into the house this morning. What does that all add up to? SPRING IS FINALLY HERE FOR REAL.

All of the new growth and WARM DAYS ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

9 NEW BOOKS TO WATCH FOR IN JANUARY 2017
by Leila Roy

PHEW! I finally finished listing my favorites of 2016, and now it’s time to start the merry-go-round up again and look at the new releases of January 2017.

Here are a few of the titles that I’m planning on picking up:

Allegedly, by Tiffany Jackson

After a court case that was covered nationally, fifteen-year-old Mary is in “baby jail” for ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

MOSES by Jenny Perepeczko
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"A 'true story' with an extensive text and extra helping of imagination. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
A rescued baby elephant raised in Malawi turns out to be much like a human baby, exploring his world, needing cuddles and comfort, learning to use his body parts and making friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU'RE A CRAB! by Jenny Whitehead
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 2, 2015

"Certainly not new fare, but any opportunity to help children understand emotions is never a misstep. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A marine-themed look at all kinds of moods. Read full book review >