Search Results: "Jeremiah Tower"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 4, 2003

"The pervasive brashness and the ain't-I-difficult image-mongering can grate, but when Tower writes of his inspirations and the extraordinary foods and people he worked with, he is unfailingly intriguing and righteously grounded."
The former restaurateur, cookbook author, and PBS host tells his life story, explaining what drove him to achieve what he demurely calls his "national fame as a chef." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"A historian's history that deserves pride of place in every library."
Historian and journalist Jones (Countdown to Valkyrie: The July Plot to Kill Hitler, 2008, etc.) enlightens and delights in this history of the London Tower. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOWER by Bill Henderson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2000

"Henderson may meander a bit, but his search for fulfillment and a renewed outlook on life lands on solid and fertile ground. (10 b&w illustrations)"
Pushcart Press founder and publisher Henderson (Minutes of the Lead Pencil Club, 1996, etc.) discovers the "utter joy of building" and shares his quest for grace, bargain lumber, and something to call God in this part-memoir, part-how-to labor of love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JEREMIAH: TERRORIST PROPHET by Michael A. Smith
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 1997

"A fallen soufflÇ. (First printing of 75,000; $100,000 ad/promo)"
Tritely formulaic, tongue-in-cheek psychokiller first novel, infrequently redeemed by sarcastic winks at the questionable entanglements binding TV journalists to the purveyors of media-ready sensationalism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JEREMIAH LEARNS TO READ by Jo Ellen Bogart
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"Adult new readers may respond to this, but next to stories such as Eve Bunting's The Wednesday Surprise (1989) and Marie Bradley's More Than Anything Else (1995), children will gain little sense here of the importance, benefits, or process of learning to read. (Picture book. 6-8)"
PLB 0-531-33190-3 A bland take on a worthy theme: when an aging farmer suddenly decides that he'd like to add reading to his many other skills, he washes up and presents himself at the one-room schoolhouse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOWER DOG by Douglas Scott Delaney
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 11, 2017

"A vivid book guaranteed to make readers more aware of what it takes to get that cellphone signal into his or her hand, for better or worse."
A memoir from a young "fourteen-dollar-an-hour cog in a thankless deadly wheel." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Calling Tower by Josh Leone
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 15, 2015

"A promising start to a serious-minded space-opera epic."
In a far-future empire known as the Primacy, elites and spacefaring rogues are ensnared in a conspiracy by a top-tier mystic to elevate himself to godhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOLF TOWER by Tanith Lee
ADVENTURE
Released: May 1, 2000

"A diverting escapade for fans of Karen Cushman's Catherine, Called Birdy (1994), Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted (1997), and the like. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Lee (Saint Fire, not reviewed, etc.) opens a new series framed, belt and suspenders, in chapters and diary entries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABEL TOWER by A.S. Byatt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1996

"Not Byatt's best."
An ambitious, intelligent work that, while aiming to get Britain's swinging '60s down pat, unfortunately scants the usual fictional elements, putting in their place a mordant and always perceptive historical critique. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MILLICENT'S TOWER by Rosalyn Rikel
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 22, 2014

"Whether Rikel's debut adult mystery is intended as a gothic parody or an Agatha Christie homage, it falls well short of either mark. Even the children are unconvincingly drawn—hardly an endorsement for an author whose previous volumes (The Windmill, 2013, etc.) have been aimed at a young audience."
A batty old woman fears that everyone's after her for her money. And you know what? She may be right. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TOWER by Gregg Andrew Hurwitz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 1999

"A breezy, funny first outing whose manically cornball dialogue, gross-out brutality, and preposterous action scenes aim low, shoot lower, and hit the target every time."
Sucker-punching, tongue-in-cheek debut psychokiller tale that spoofs, and tops, the hyper-violent Hollywood genre films that have inspired it. Read full book review >