Search Results: "Jeremy Bates"


BOOK REVIEW

SUICIDE FOREST by Jeremy Bates
Released: Dec. 16, 2014

"Bates' choice to avoid brazen scares makes for an understated horror story that will remind readers what chattering teeth sound like."
In Bates' (The Taste of Fear, 2012, etc.) horror novel, a simple excursion into a reputedly haunted forest turns into a nightmare when people start dying in conspicuously unnatural ways.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TASTE OF FEAR by Jeremy Bates
Released: Oct. 23, 2012

"A flawed novel that still thrills."
An exciting novel about terrorists, movie stars, billionaires and wild animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL BY MYSELF by Ivan Bates
Released: Feb. 29, 2000

BOOK REVIEW

COLD COMFORT by Quentin Bates
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 10, 2012

"More routine than Gunna's debut (Frozen Assets, 2011), but still required reading for anyone who wants a sense of how calamitous Iceland's meltdown was—and what just might be in store for American police procedurals next."
Iceland's financial crisis claims new casualties in venues considerably more homely than banks and corporate offices. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG TRUCK AND LITTLE TRUCK by Jan Carr
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"The characters, situations, and art hark back to an antique picture-book tradition, but children of any generation will understand Little Truck's feelings. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A small pick-up truck suffers separation anxiety in this tale for fans of Little Toot, Katy, and other animated work machines. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEY THERE, OWLFACE by Betty Bates
ANIMALS
Released: June 15, 1991

"Still, an easily read story with appealing b&w illustrations and some solid values. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Brad, who lives with his widowed mother on Gramps's midwestern farm, does some significant maturing during the months he observes a pair of barn owls raise their young. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY OLD PAL, OSCAR by Amy Hest
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2016

"Hest and Bates' previous joint dog project, The Dog Who Belonged to No One (2008), was a more tender and effective narrative. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Alone at the beach, a black-and-white puppy huddles under the pier until it spots a child. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 1, 1991

"A frequently illuminating study that should prove useful to neophyte reporters—but hardly Pulitzer Prize material. (Eight pages of photographs—not seen.)"
In a thought-provoking, if uneven, exposÇ, Bates, former general news editor of The Seattle Times, uses the stories of three Pulitzer candidates to dissect the Pulitzer mystique. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HIDE-AND-SCARE BEAR by Ivan Bates
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 22, 2016

"Though a bit pat, the book addresses an important social skill for the very young. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A rambunctious bear thinks it is fun to scare all the other animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

21 by Jeremy Iversen
FICTION
Released: March 1, 2005

"Instead, there's only choppy prose for a disaffected protagonist. (Fiction. YA)"
Sparse, artsy language illustrates partier Bret's 21st birthday. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FATE OF AFRICA by Jeremy Harding
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 12, 1993

"Harding's empathy for his subjects' suffering is creditable, but their fate, as well as that of the continent he so obviously loves, get losts in a text that wanders, jumps, and never quite gets in focus. (Maps)"
A series of set-pieces that graphically illustrate—but less successfully illuminate—the terrible tangle of ancient legacies and contemporary politics that threaten Africa. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 18, 1994

"Accessible, down-to-earth guidance on a demanding oversight philosophy that, for all its recuperative powers, promises the commercially challenged neither quick fixes nor instant salvation."
A journalist's objective and informative report on total quality management (TQM) in the US over the past 15 years. Read full book review >