Search Results: "Jim McMullan"


BOOK REVIEW

I'M COOL! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"Who knew ice could be this much fun? (Picture book. 4-8)"
Adding to their list of many vehicular tributes, the McMullans take on an often overlooked large machine—the Zamboni. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M BRAVE! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"For those kids who dream of the station, the fire pole and the calls, this will be an exciting ride. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The McMullans' latest collaboration, following other transportation-themed books (plus a T. Rex), looks at the important job of a fire engine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAPA'S SONG by Kate McMullan
ANIMALS
Released: April 5, 2000

"A cozy read aloud, young children will find it hard to resist the soporific spell of this perfect bedtime story. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A bright-eyed, bushy-tailed Baby Bear turns the Bear household topsy-turvy until Papa Bear's ingenious idea saves the night. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOEL THE FIRST by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 31, 1996

"Unusually thoughtful readers may pull the larger lesson out, but to most, this tidy episode will seem both minor and visually claustrophobic. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The McMullans follow up Nutcracker Noel (1994) with a slight tale that bears only traces of the same wit and vibrancy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NOISY GIANTS' TEA PARTY by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 30, 1992

"In his expertly rendered art, McMullan creates some amusing links between the racket and its lively imaginary counterpart; still, the idea of bringing the nightmarish noises of a city street to life is a little thin, its development overextended. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The striking jacket painting of giant shadows cast against an apartment building by the action in a busy street is the best feature of this mixed offering. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEY, PIPSQUEAK! by Kate McMullan
FICTION
Released: Sept. 30, 1995

"The McMullans (Nutcracker Noel, 1993, etc.) give all the pipsqueaks who have ever had to face a bully a bullseye. (Picture book. 3+)"
Young Jack is tooling along in his pedal car when he spots a black-and-white present done up with a blue bow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M BAD! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2008

"From the bright, heavy-lined watercolors to the braggadocio kids will revel in, this is an easy choice for multiple-copy purchases. (Picture book. 3-8)"
"Are you BAD? / I'm REALLY bad. / Scare-the-tails-off-all-the-other-dinosaurs / BAD." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M DIRTY! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Full of kid appeal, this is sure to be a favorite with reluctant readers, those who revel in mud and all who love trucks. (Picture book. 4-8)"
From the creators of I Stink! (2002) and I'm Mighty! (2003) comes Backhoe Loader, a construction vehicle that is ready for business. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M MIGHTY! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Young swabbies will be delighted by this gander at a tug's labor and gear, and likely absorb its pride in a job well done. (Picture book. 4-6)"
It's Little Toot, all grown up and on steroids. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M FAST! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"Preschoolers will most likely warm to the good-natured competition between car and train, and parents and teachers will appreciate the friendly conclusion. But for those looking for a standout title in the multitude of things-that-go stories, there is little here that would warrant a repeat journey. (Picture book. 3-5)"
The usually dynamic McMullan duo (I Stink!, 2002) stalls with their sixth title, which stars an uber-confident train that accepts a challenge to race an equally self-assured sports car. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M BIG! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Add art composed of out-of-focus figures in dull purples and greens, and the total's a roaring disappointment. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In this fourth and weakest companion to the instant classic I Stink! (2002), a "super-sorry sauropod" sleeps through his herd's departure and so—sounding just like the trucks and the T. Rex in previous iterations: "Wanna help me find my pack? / Awright, let's get a move on"—sets off across the prehistoric landscape in pursuit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NUTCRACKER NOEL by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 1993

"A delightful addition to the annals of young performers. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Noel dreams of being a star in a ``real'' ballet, but alas- -in her class production she's only a tree, while arch-rival Mia, of the winsome curls and doting mother, is a gingerbread doll. Read full book review >