Search Results: "Jim Frederick"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 2008

"Short on history and ideas, but worth it for the rare view inside the North Korean moonscape."
A riveting account of what happened to a U.S. sergeant after he walked across the DMZ and defected to the Democratic People's Republic of Korea in 1965. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 9, 2010

"A riveting picture of life outside the wire in Iraq, where '[y]ou tell a guy to go across a bridge, and within five minutes he's dead.'"
Harrowing account of the atmospherics, commission and aftermath of a war crime. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JIM SHEPARD
by Vincent Scarpa

“I’m trying to put less food on my kids’ tables,” Jim Shepard jokes. This, in reference to the years he spent researching the Minoan eruption of Thera—a catastrophic volcanic event in mid-second millennium B.C.E.—with the intent to write something fairly substantial about it and ending up instead with “Cretan Love Song,” a story that, at ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ROGUE by Frederick Ramsay
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 1, 2011

"Suspense builds slowly in Ike's fifth procedural (Choker, 2008, etc.). Its low-key charm particularly rewards readers already familiar with the characters."
A volatile small-town sheriff will stop at nothing to find the person responsible for putting his fiancé in a coma. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SNOWBOARDING TO NIRVANA by Frederick Lenz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1997

"Lenz has written a comic masterpiece, whether he meant to or not."
Real-life snowboarder Lenz (Surfing the Himalayas, 1995) takes us, in what may be the most hilarious spiritual quest since Candide, on a most excellent pilgrimage through the mountains of Nepal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BROTHERS by Frederick Barthelme
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2001

"The final image of brotherly revenge is indelible, making this, Kirkus suggested, 'one of Barthelme's more haunting novels.'"
Barthelme's new publisher is returning to print some of his fiction, beginning with this, his novel from 1993, a tale of marital indiscretion and brotherly betrayal set in Biloxi, a familiar terrain in Barthelme's dark and contemporary social comedy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 5, 1993

"He remains something of a cipher, recording but not reacting to the world through which he passes."
Uneven account of a 14-month-long exploration of the Gulf Coast as it arcs from the tourist traps of Key West to the temples of the Yucatan Peninsula. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Gourmets and gourmands alike will savor Kaufman's keen, caustic anatomy of the American palate."
A series of trenchant arguments about the consistency of Americans' feelings for food, our great common denominator. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NORTH by Frederick Busch
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 2005

"This writer's failures are indeed more interesting than many of his contemporaries' successes. Still, North is a disappointment."
The search for a missing youth jump-starts Busch's brooding latest, a loose sequel to his 1997 stunner, Girls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2011

"A bit too long, but good journalistic history in the tradition of William L. Shirer and Barbara Tuchman."
A tale of missed opportunities just might have ended in nuclear war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETER SIMPLE by Frederick Marryat
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 1998

"This is one of the most attractive and neglected early Victorian novels, and its selection alone bodes well for a very promising series."
paper 0-8050-5565-7 The enduring popularity of Patrick O'Brian's Aubrey-Maturin novels has fortuitously stimulated Norton's new Heart of Oak Sea Classics. Read full book review >