Search Results: "Joan Sandin"


BOOK REVIEW

AT HOME IN A NEW LAND by Joan Sandin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"For young history students and children wishing to learn more about Swedish immigration. (author note, glossary) (Fiction. 4-8)"
Sandin presents her third slice of Swedish-American history in the venerable I Can Read series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COYOTE SCHOOL NEWS by Joan Sandin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

"161;Muy Hermosa!' (glossary of Spanish words with pronunciations, maps, author's note) (Picture book. 6-10)"
There's a delightful authenticity to this fictional account of the events of 1938 in a one-room school in the ranch country of southern Arizona. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AS THE CROW FLIES by Elizabeth Winthrop
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 20, 1998

"A poignant book that takes an upbeat approach to an inherently bad (from a child's perspective) situation. (Picture book. 5-8)"
From Winthrop (The Little Humpbacked Horse, 1997, etc.), a look at joint custody through the eyes of second-grader Michael, who talks to his father in Delaware via cordless phone while riding his bike in front of his Arizona home, where he lives with his mother. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SNOWSHOE THOMPSON by Nancy Smiler Levinson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 30, 1992

Based on a historical character, a Norwegian who came to 1850's California, a story about some of the earliest skis in the US. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A HIPPO’S TALE by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: April 6, 2007

"Landström's illustrations are as always gently evocative with piquant touches of humor. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Mrs. Hippopotamus is the Greta Garbo of hippos. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRANNY’S FRIENDS by Catarina Kruusval
ADVENTURE
Released: April 10, 2008

"The simple plot provides a lighthearted lesson in the responsibilities of friendship. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A little girl leads her friends on an outing but follows them home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT, ANIMALS by Lena Arro
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 26, 2002

"2001, etc.) skill in color and design heightens the effectiveness of the cumulative structure of the text with a grace to charm a young reader who may read one more book before going to sleep. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Bubble confidently walks right to the tent, securely holding his sleeping bag and pillow for his overnight tent adventure with his sister, uncertain Pearl, who awkwardly holds her gear as if it might fall on her feet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOUR HENS AND A ROOSTER by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 8, 2005

"Fans of Doreen Cronin's Click, Clack, Moo (2000), illustrated by Betsy Lewin, and other Animal Farm offshoots, will be particularly amused. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The hens revolt when Rooster gets too big for his britches in this droll barnyard spoof. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOO AND BAA HAVE COMPANY by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 2006

"Bright watercolor illustrations and a sprightly translation, not to mention the full-sized format, make this perfect for story times. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Thank goodness: Swedish sheep Boo and Baa make their return to America after a six-year absence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Oct. 22, 1993

"Charming. (Nonfiction. 7+)"
The author of Linnea in Monet's Garden (1987) explores the connection between Alice Liddell, the book Alice, and its creator in an inviting array of anecdotes, biographical details, descriptions of the Oxford setting, photos (many by Dodgson, still renowned as a photographer of children), period illustrations, and Eriksson's precisely detailed art. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LITTLE CAT AND THE GREEDY OLD WOMAN by Joan Rankin
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"There's always room on the shelf for a smart, humorous swipe at one of the grand old vices. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A hungry kitten meows for food and would like a small taste of the special meal the greedy old woman is preparing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INSIDE-OUT GRANDMA by Joan Rothenberg
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 1995

"A book as welcome as a platter of freshly fried latkes—happily, a recipe is included. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A fresh, wry Hanukkah story. Read full book review >