Search Results: "Joanna Foster"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 28, 1991

A brief, visually appealing introduction to garbage—where it comes from, where it goes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANE FOSTER'S 123 by Jane Foster
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 7, 2015

"A fetching and effective introduction to the world of numbers. (Board book. 3 mos.-2)"
A simple and stylish counting book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIRTHDAYS OF FREEDOM by Genevieve Foster
Released: June 1, 1952

Teachers, parents, and children who have enjoyed and profited from this author's three world biographies of Lincoln, Washington, and Augustus Caesar will be predisposed toward this book, but they should be forewarned that this does not have the same type of horizontal construction that won the other books so many followers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHALE PORT by Mark Foster
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 24, 2007

The story of the fictional New England town of Tuckanucket from 1683 to the present entwines story threads of whaling and the growth of the new nation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMOS JELLYBEAN GETS IT RIGHT by Joanna Walsh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2005

Amos Jellybean knows he's bright (his mum says so), but he still always seems to scramble the many instructions he's given: "So I . . . take my bed downstairs, put it on the table, sit down on my breakfast and eat my clothes." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 1998

"From the joint talents of the authors (a librarian and a novelist) comes a winsome biography that takes its subject more seriously than itself. (26 b&w photos, not seen)"
The authors' affection for their subject is warmly communicated in this biography of David-Neel (1868—1969), the French Tibetophile who was the first European woman to explore the once forbidden (to foreigners) city of Lhasa. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 1, 2001

"Not exactly subtle and more than a little sexist, but the fervor of the wheeling and dealing has its charms."
In industrial realtor Foster's full-throttle debut, almost anything goes in the world of LA commercial real estate as a bad-to-the-bone, frenzied superagent in high heels uses sex, blackmail, and secret partnerships to stay at the head of the pack—until a mild-mannered man of principle comes along to burst her bubble. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE JOLLY ROGER SOCIAL CLUB by Nick Foster
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 12, 2016

"An engrossing, well-developed true-crime tale, unsettling in its portrayal of the underbelly of its tropical setting."
A juicy, disturbing account of "the world's first capitalist serial killer," who wreaked havoc among unsuspecting expatriates in a remote, hedonistic Panama archipelago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KGB BAR READER by Ken Foster
Released: Sept. 9, 1998

"A round from one of New York's newest literary lions' dens."
Short stories and essays, original publications, reprints; and selections from the KGB reading series itself all belly up to the literary bar in this anthology. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Sessions: Memoirs of a Psychotherapist by Kathryn Foster
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 6, 2014

"An absorbing, behind-the-scenes look at the mind and work of a therapist."
In this novel, a Texas psychologist helps individuals and families in crisis while an IRS audit looms and her own 20-year marriage falters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN AUTUMN LEAVES by Amy Foster
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"A charming debut in the tradition of Practical Magic and The Witches of Eastwick."
Small-town witch looks for her replacement. Read full book review >