Search Results: "Joanna Gray"


BOOK REVIEW

THE LITTLE RAINDROP by Joanna Gray
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 4, 2014

"Even the youngest children don't deserve this degree of dumbing down. (Informational picture book. 4-6)"
Little Raindrop journeys from cloud to sea and back again. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

AMELIA GRAY
by Rachel Sugar

If you know anything about Isadora Duncan, it is likely you know this: she was a modern dancer—not just any modern dancer, but the mother of modern dance—and she died, spectacularly, when her silk scarf (hand painted) caught in the wheel of an open automobile.

“When I tell people about Isadora,” says Amelia Gray, whose latest novel — titled ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WE ARE MORE THAN MACHINES
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Defy the Stars (Defy the Stars #1) by Claudia Gray

Cover Story: Trippy ‘Splosion
BFF Charm: Heck Yes
Swoonworthy Scale: 7
Talky Talk: Boy (Robot) Meets Girl
Bonus Factors: Space Colonies, Unlikely Team
Relationship Status: Stowaway

Cover Story: Trippy ‘Splosion

I feel like this book should have come with special 3D-like glasses that make the title ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SUMMER, SUPERHEROES AND SUPERSTARS
by Bobbi Dumas

Everyone seen Wonder Woman yet? Yes? Good!

(No? Don’t tell me, just go see it.)

There have been so many great reviews written about this movie that I don’t need to pile anything on. (There’ve also been some awful reviews written about the movie, rebutted by some movie reviewers in articles worth reading, for anyone interested in such things. I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

AMOS JELLYBEAN GETS IT RIGHT by Joanna Walsh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2005

Amos Jellybean knows he's bright (his mum says so), but he still always seems to scramble the many instructions he's given: "So I . . . take my bed downstairs, put it on the table, sit down on my breakfast and eat my clothes." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRIZZLY DAD by Joanna Harrison
ANIMALS
Released: May 12, 2009

"In a season full of saccharine, this is the real thing. (Picture book. 4-8)"
When Dad wakes up one morning, he is in a GRRRRIZZLY mood, and after grrroaning, grrrizzling and GRRRUMPing, he goes back to bed where he can't do any more damage. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STEADFAST by Claudia Gray
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 4, 2014

"The eternal conflict between ends and means keeps the tension taut and the plot humming. Stay tuned. (Paranormal romance. 13 & up)"
All's not well in Captive's Sound; the ancient evil Nadia and friends believed they'd vanquished has not only survived, their efforts have made it stronger than ever (Spellcaster, 2013). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A THOUSAND PIECES OF YOU by Claudia Gray
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"This trilogy opener offers solid entertainment for readers willing to go with the fictional flow. (Science fiction. 12-18)"
A girl and her two possible heartthrobs travel across parallel universes to avenge her father's murder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STAY WITH ME by Mila Gray
Released: Nov. 29, 2016

"Pure wish fulfillment for readers seeking steamy escapism. (Fiction. 16 & up)"
Forbidden love cures all in Gray's latest, following Come Back to Me (2015). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

10 MEN by Alexandra Gray
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2005

"Brittle wit turns to sentimental taffy by the end."
An unnamed woman delineates her life in terms of her involvement with ten archetypal men. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SILENCE OF ANIMALS by John Gray
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: June 4, 2013

"The world is all chaos, Gray wants us to know, but he has a good time delivering the message."
Another bucket of cold water splashed in the face of idealism by Gray (European Thought/London School of Economics; Black Mass: Apocalyptic Religion and the Death of Utopia, 2007, etc.), this time focused on humankind's stubbornly feral nature. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPYGIRL by Amy Gray
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 9, 2003

"Entertaining and stylishly written."
Life and loves in the big city, exuberantly chronicled by debut author Gray, who quit her low-paying publishing job to become a private investigator. Read full book review >