Search Results: "Joanna Walsh"


BOOK REVIEW

DID YOU EVER SEE? by Joanna Walsh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Science books for the young can and should do better than this. (Picture book. 3-5)"
This new offering from the Tate Gallery's publishing arm asks simple questions about visual perception, challenging readers to make judgments about relationships between familiar objects. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMOS JELLYBEAN GETS IT RIGHT by Joanna Walsh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2005

Amos Jellybean knows he's bright (his mum says so), but he still always seems to scramble the many instructions he's given: "So I . . . take my bed downstairs, put it on the table, sit down on my breakfast and eat my clothes." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT IF? by Joanna Walsh
Released: Dec. 15, 1999

BOOK REVIEW

WORLDS FROM THE WORD'S END by Joanna Walsh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 7, 2017

"Arresting in their otherworldly simplicity, Walsh's stories are lonely but never sentimental; grief may haunt her prose, but it is as a fact and not a feeling. A singular reading experience that leaves a mark."
Unsparingly observant and disconcertingly sharp, Walsh's (Vertigo, 2016, etc.) latest short story collection is an eerily matter-of-fact chronicle of our own impending doom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VERTIGO by Joanna Walsh
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2015

"With wry humor and profound sensitivity, Walsh (Fractals, 2013) takes what is mundane and transforms it into something otherworldly with sentences that can make your heart stop. A feat of language."
Less a collection of linked short stories—though it is that, too—than a cinematic montage, a collection of photographs, or a series of sketches, Walsh's book would be dreamlike if it weren't so deliciously sharp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BIGGEST KISS by Joanna Walsh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 20, 2011

"Although a bit on the slight side, this offering is infused with a warm, light humor just right for cuddling up with a young tyke or sharing with a gathering for storytime. (Picture book. 2-5)"
This title previously published in the U.K. takes a cozy look at all kinds of kisses. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE MOM by Joanna Walsh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 16, 2014

"Books about moms and their appreciative children abound. Pass on this lackluster offering. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A mother tiger and her two cubs show their love for each other in this slim tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1997

"Regardless, it's balanced enough to be read to four-year-old flower girls, or to be read alone by junior bridesmaids. (Nonfiction. 4- 10)"
A book for a well-defined audience—girls looking forward to their first experience as a wedding attendant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE DAD by Joanna Walsh
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 12, 2016

"Better books about loving fathers and the things they do for their children abound. (Picture book. 4-7)"
I Love Mom (2014) gets its companion title from Walsh and Abbot. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON THE BUS WITH JOANNA COLE by Joanna Cole
BIOGRAPHY
Released: May 20, 1996

"A book as appealing as any Cole has written, good for recreational readers and report-writers alike. (Autobiography. 10-13)"
A grand autobiography in the Creative Sparks series that is both accessible and entertaining. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY BEAK, YOUR BEAK by Melanie Walsh
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 30, 2002

"As there's no corresponding sense of closure in My Beak, Your Beak, the two titles form a seamless whole, making this more like one work for the price of two—still, the theme is certainly important enough to justify the extra expense. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Walsh (Big and Little, not reviewed, etc) continues to delight and inform toddlers with these two celebrations of unity in diversity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ISAAC AND HIS AMAZING ASPERGER SUPERPOWERS! by Melanie Walsh
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 22, 2016

"While simplistic, it's a serviceable starter for discussions of spectrum disorders with younger neurotypical audiences. (URL list) (Picture book. 6-8)"
Isaac explains why he wears a mask and cape and sometimes has special needs. Read full book review >