Search Results: "Joe Berger"


BOOK REVIEW

MY SPECIAL ONE AND ONLY by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2012

"Give to fans of Knuffle Bunny and to any child who appreciates an intense bond with a special toy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After getting a coin for her lost tooth, dynamic Bridget sets forth on what she thinks will be an exciting shopping trip only to find she must rescue her most beloved, "special one and only" Captain Cat toy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIDGET FIDGET AND THE MOST PERFECT PET!  by Joe Berger
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"Familiar waters, sure, but it's the rare child who doesn't dream of having his or her very own Thunderhooves. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Bridget Fidget desperately wants a pet unicorn to name Thunderhooves, so when a giant box arrives downstairs marked "Fragile" (or, as she imagines, "Here's your new pet!") she dives right in, spreading Styrofoam pellets ("snow") all over the house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOE by Larry Brown
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1991

"It's lean, mean, and original."
With this, his fourth book in as many years, Brown delivers on the huge promise of his first, the tough-as-nails collection of stories, Facing the Music. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOE by Ron Padgett
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"Written with profound admiration and affection, but the author should have hit Delete more frequently. (38 b&w and color photos and illustrations)"
A fond chronicle of the nearly 40-year friendship between poet Padgett (Great Balls of Fire, not reviewed) and artist Brainard, who died of AIDS-related pneumonia in 1994. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOE JOE by Mary Serfozo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 1993

``Bang''; ``bong''; ``hop''; ``stop'': each word appears twice, in large type and also creatively integrated into a sequence of illustrations depicting a small boy exploring his yard and neighborhood, making noise by dragging a stick along a picket fence and by banging on garbage pails, then considering a stop sign, splashing and squishing through puddles, and finally bringing his muddy footprints home—where Mom greets his dawning awareness of the tracks he's just made with rueful indulgence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TIPTOE JOE by Ginger Foglesong Gibson
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2013

"This beguiling, cumulative woodland tale will make a great addition to bedtime routines. (Picture book. 2-5)"
"Tiptoe fast, // tiptoe slow. / Say hello to Tiptoe Joe." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOE DIMAGGIO by Jerome Charyn
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 15, 2011

"Though sometimes over the top as he reimagines DiMaggio—'[Yankee] Stadium's suffering Christ'—Charyn supplies an intriguing, plausible take on this notoriously opaque hero."
A novelist's sympathetic meditation on the life of the legendary New York Yankee. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILENT JOE by T. Jefferson Parker
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 25, 2001

"His story could have been pared down without harm, but, still, this is another highly professional score from a savvy veteran (Red Light, 2000, etc.)."
"The Acid Baby," the media dub him when his sociopathic father douses him with battery acid, ravaging half his face. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EARTH TO CLUNK by Pam Smallcomb
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

"Rarely have school letter-writing exercises been so much fun. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The boy in Smallcomb's story starts as a put-upon grouchypants but slowly turns over the course of a pen-pal correspondence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HATTIE THE BAD by Jane Devlin
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"A true scion of Eloise, the shameless Hattie's so bad she's just great! (Picture book. 3-5)"
A theatrical girl with a penchant for being bad tries to be good in this wry exploration of the dynamics of behavior. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOE VICTIM by Paul Cleave
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"A little Hannibal Lector. A little Richard von Krafft-Ebing. A lot of gore."
In his latest noir thriller, Cleave (Cemetery Lake, 2013, etc.) again stumbles into the evil environs of contemporary Christchurch, New Zealand. Read full book review >