Search Results: "Joe Berger"


BOOK REVIEW

CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG OVER THE MOON by Frank Cottrell Boyce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 8, 2014

"One last exhilarating ride: 'Ga GOOO ga!!!!' (Fantasy. 10-12)"
The third and (probably) final "official" sequel to Ian Fleming's classic sends the redoubtable roadster careening off the planet as well as through time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG FLIES AGAIN by Frank Cottrell Boyce
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"The old racer's still good for another lap—and maybe more. (afterword). (Fantasy. 10-12)"
Ian Fleming's strong-minded auto takes a new road trip, and if its passengers are largely just along for the ride, it's still a grand outing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY SPECIAL ONE AND ONLY by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2012

"Give to fans of Knuffle Bunny and to any child who appreciates an intense bond with a special toy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After getting a coin for her lost tooth, dynamic Bridget sets forth on what she thinks will be an exciting shopping trip only to find she must rescue her most beloved, "special one and only" Captain Cat toy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHIZZ! POP! GRANNY, STOP! by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 27, 2013

"Corderoy and Berger have concocted a splendid follow-up (Hubble, Bubble, Granny Trouble, 2012) full of gentle humor spotlighting the special relationship between grandmothers and granddaughters. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Granny sure knows how to cast a spell, but her granddaughter, who narrates, just wants to spend time getting ready for her upcoming birthday party without using the special "Helping Kit." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG AND THE RACE AGAINST TIME by Frank Cottrell Boyce
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 12, 2013

"The wild ride leaves the Tootings in 1966, carless and in midpredicament. Expect further episodes. (Fantasy. 10-12)"
More of a romp through time than a race against it (though a race does figure in), this second authorized sequel sends the reconstructed car with a mind of its own careening from the Cretaceous to the Jazz Age, Venezuela to the Wild West, while folding in references and tributes to Ian Fleming's classic tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUBBLE BUBBLE GRANNY TROUBLE by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 10, 2012

"Nestled among the burping bats and mischievous frogs, a lesson on appreciating differences is charmingly presented. Let this tale work its magic throughout the year. (Picture book. 3-6) "
As they say, be careful what you wish for… Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EARTH TO CLUNK by Pam Smallcomb
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

"Rarely have school letter-writing exercises been so much fun. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The boy in Smallcomb's story starts as a put-upon grouchypants but slowly turns over the course of a pen-pal correspondence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HATTIE THE BAD by Jane Devlin
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"A true scion of Eloise, the shameless Hattie's so bad she's just great! (Picture book. 3-5)"
A theatrical girl with a penchant for being bad tries to be good in this wry exploration of the dynamics of behavior. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SUPER-SPOOKY FRIGHT NIGHT! by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 23, 2016

"Italics and exclamation points may be overused, but this new humorous series is full of gently amusing magical surprises. (Fantasy. 7-9)"
Shades of Bewitched, the old TV show featuring a witch married to a regular guy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT GRANNY CAKE CONTEST! by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 13, 2017

"This accessible series should lead young readers to the groaning shelves of middle-grade fantasy that await. (Fantasy. 6-8)"
Pandora and her granny return in a new set of stories about witches who cannot refrain from using magic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIDGET FIDGET AND THE MOST PERFECT PET!  by Joe Berger
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"Familiar waters, sure, but it's the rare child who doesn't dream of having his or her very own Thunderhooves. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Bridget Fidget desperately wants a pet unicorn to name Thunderhooves, so when a giant box arrives downstairs marked "Fragile" (or, as she imagines, "Here's your new pet!") she dives right in, spreading Styrofoam pellets ("snow") all over the house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >