Search Results: "Joe Cottonwood"


BOOK REVIEW

THE ADVENTURES OF BOONE BARNABY by Joe Cottonwood
Released: Nov. 1, 1990

When Boone, his friend Danny, and their soccer team are invited to Australia, they raise money by organizing a Trashathon, gathering pledges from nearly everyone in their small California town—even Meyer ("Miser") Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DANNY AIN'T by Joe Cottonwood
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"Cottonwood makes his points in both obvious and subtle ways and buoys his story with an idiosyncratic, good-natured cast; with Danny's voracious, vividly described hunger (almost a running gag); and with a soccer game in which the winner is not the team with the highest score. (Fiction. 11-13)"
When Danny's Pop goes back to the VA hospital with recurrent post-traumatic stress disorder, Danny discovers he's not quite as capable of caring for himself as he'd thought. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABCOCK by Joe Cottonwood
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1996

"Whether their choices are good or bad, the characters get the benefit of the doubt and the gift of being able to grow and change; it's not all empty calories. (b&w illustrations, not seen) (Fiction. 11-13)"
Cottonwood (Danny Ain't, 1992, etc.) returns to the deceptively quiet town of San Puerco, California, for this filling tale of an overweight seventh grader, young love, family, baseball, and rock-'n'-roll. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

99 JOBS by Joe Cottonwood
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Nov. 10, 2013

"Expertly crafted narrative nonfiction that reveals the framework of people's lives."
A general contractor and author looks back on a 35-year career contending with a variety of houses and people—most in disrepair. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHRISTMAS COAL MAN by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"It's hard to dig up a new angle on Santa's cast of helpers, but the Coal Man is a nugget of originality. (Picture book. 4-7) "
A new helper for Santa is introduced as an elderly, elfin man who provides the lumps of coal for the stockings of naughty boys and girls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT’S UNDER THE BED? by Joe Fenton
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Sept. 2, 2008

"Is there something on the ground?' (Picture book. 3-7)"
It's nighttime, and Fred hears a noise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VACATION'S OVER! by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

They're not extinct, after all—they've just been on an interstellar cruise for a few million years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEFFY AND THE FEATHERED DINOSAURS by Joe Lillington
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"The art doesn't exactly soar, but younger readers may find these tidbits more digestible than the somewhat more technical anatomical details in Brenda Z. Guiberson and William Low's Feathered Dinosaurs (2016). (glossary, map) (Informational picture book. 7-9)"
A young microraptor meets several of her Cretaceous cousins on the way to learning how to use her own feathered limbs to glide. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY SPECIAL ONE AND ONLY by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2012

"Give to fans of Knuffle Bunny and to any child who appreciates an intense bond with a special toy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After getting a coin for her lost tooth, dynamic Bridget sets forth on what she thinks will be an exciting shopping trip only to find she must rescue her most beloved, "special one and only" Captain Cat toy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPENT by Joe Matt
by Joe Matt, illustrated by Joe Matt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2007

"Not for kids, though adult readers should take some pleasure knowing that they're better off than Matt, at least as depicted here."
The cartoonist tests the limits of pathetic self-absorption in a volume that should appeal to his cult following but is unlikely to expand it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I BECOME SHADOW by Joe Shine
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 10, 2014

"Read it for the satisfying action, not the love story. (Science fiction/thriller. 14-18)"
A secret international organization gets more than it bargained for when it kidnaps 14-year-old Rennes "Ren" Sharpe. Read full book review >