Search Results: "Joe Infurnari"


BOOK REVIEW

MARATHON by Boaz Yakin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 19, 2012

"Among the most historically and culturally significant battles ever fought, Marathon gets righteous due—and so does its greatest hero. (Graphic historical fiction. 12-15)"
Retold in expressionistic blurs of action, this account of the battle of Marathon chronicles at once a glorious win for the underdogs and an awe-inspiring personal achievement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHRISTMAS COAL MAN by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"It's hard to dig up a new angle on Santa's cast of helpers, but the Coal Man is a nugget of originality. (Picture book. 4-7) "
A new helper for Santa is introduced as an elderly, elfin man who provides the lumps of coal for the stockings of naughty boys and girls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT’S UNDER THE BED? by Joe Fenton
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Sept. 2, 2008

"Is there something on the ground?' (Picture book. 3-7)"
It's nighttime, and Fred hears a noise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VACATION'S OVER! by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

They're not extinct, after all—they've just been on an interstellar cruise for a few million years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEFFY AND THE FEATHERED DINOSAURS by Joe Lillington
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"The art doesn't exactly soar, but younger readers may find these tidbits more digestible than the somewhat more technical anatomical details in Brenda Z. Guiberson and William Low's Feathered Dinosaurs (2016). (glossary, map) (Informational picture book. 7-9)"
A young microraptor meets several of her Cretaceous cousins on the way to learning how to use her own feathered limbs to glide. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY SPECIAL ONE AND ONLY by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2012

"Give to fans of Knuffle Bunny and to any child who appreciates an intense bond with a special toy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After getting a coin for her lost tooth, dynamic Bridget sets forth on what she thinks will be an exciting shopping trip only to find she must rescue her most beloved, "special one and only" Captain Cat toy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPENT by Joe Matt
by Joe Matt, illustrated by Joe Matt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2007

"Not for kids, though adult readers should take some pleasure knowing that they're better off than Matt, at least as depicted here."
The cartoonist tests the limits of pathetic self-absorption in a volume that should appeal to his cult following but is unlikely to expand it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOBY AND THE ICE GIANTS by Joe Lillington
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 11, 2015

"A skimpy alternative to Adrian Lister and Martin Ursell's Ice Age Tracker's Guide (2010). (Informational picture book. 7-9)"
A small bison meets some ice age megafauna in this prehistoric ramble. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY CROCODILE DOES NOT BITE by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"An amusing twist that will make readers wonder about the meaning of a really well-trained crocodile. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Cindy Lou and her miniature poodle Fifi become just desserts at the school pet show. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIDGET FIDGET AND THE MOST PERFECT PET!  by Joe Berger
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"Familiar waters, sure, but it's the rare child who doesn't dream of having his or her very own Thunderhooves. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Bridget Fidget desperately wants a pet unicorn to name Thunderhooves, so when a giant box arrives downstairs marked "Fragile" (or, as she imagines, "Here's your new pet!") she dives right in, spreading Styrofoam pellets ("snow") all over the house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UP by Joe Cepeda
by Joe Cepeda, illustrated by Joe Cepeda
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2016

"An accessible and imaginative title for emergent readers just learning to decode and understand the written word. (Early reader. 3-7)"
One gusty fall morning, a surprise blows through an open window into the bedroom of two sleeping children, both with dark hair and light-brown skin. It's a pinwheel! Read full book review >