Search Results: "Joe Oestreich"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 5, 2012

"To quote another rock memoirist, Mott the Hoople's Ian Hunter: 'Rock 'n' roll's a loser's game / It mesmerizes and I can't explain.'"
From obscurity to music's majors and back again with the Ohio band Watershed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHRISTMAS COAL MAN by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"It's hard to dig up a new angle on Santa's cast of helpers, but the Coal Man is a nugget of originality. (Picture book. 4-7) "
A new helper for Santa is introduced as an elderly, elfin man who provides the lumps of coal for the stockings of naughty boys and girls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT’S UNDER THE BED? by Joe Fenton
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Sept. 2, 2008

"Is there something on the ground?' (Picture book. 3-7)"
It's nighttime, and Fred hears a noise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VACATION'S OVER! by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

They're not extinct, after all—they've just been on an interstellar cruise for a few million years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEFFY AND THE FEATHERED DINOSAURS by Joe Lillington
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"The art doesn't exactly soar, but younger readers may find these tidbits more digestible than the somewhat more technical anatomical details in Brenda Z. Guiberson and William Low's Feathered Dinosaurs (2016). (glossary, map) (Informational picture book. 7-9)"
A young microraptor meets several of her Cretaceous cousins on the way to learning how to use her own feathered limbs to glide. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JOE HILL
by Gregory McNamee

Climate change is a strange business: it’s turning hot places cold and cold places hot, making desert areas green and turning grasslands into desert. And then there’s what’s going on in Boulder, Colorado, where downpours of sharp steel shards are slicing the locals to ribbons, gruesome deaths first announced, as the narrator of Joe Hill’s novella Rain tells us, by ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2012

"Just like Times Square itself, the pages are filled to the brim. (sources) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
An unexpected history of a very famous intersection. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SWING by Joe Cepeda
by Joe Cepeda, illustrated by Joe Cepeda
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Engaging fantasy with bright watercolor illustrations. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Josey finds a virtual treasure trove, in a very unusual way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOBY AND THE ICE GIANTS by Joe Lillington
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 11, 2015

"A skimpy alternative to Adrian Lister and Martin Ursell's Ice Age Tracker's Guide (2010). (Informational picture book. 7-9)"
A small bison meets some ice age megafauna in this prehistoric ramble. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY CROCODILE DOES NOT BITE by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"An amusing twist that will make readers wonder about the meaning of a really well-trained crocodile. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Cindy Lou and her miniature poodle Fifi become just desserts at the school pet show. Read full book review >