Search Results: "Joe Peta"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 7, 2013

"The main focus on baseball provides a starting point for much more."
A fun approach to developing the discipline necessary to separate reproducible skills from the disruptive effects of chance in baseball, finance and life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOTTIE by Peta Coplans
by Peta Coplans, illustrated by Peta Coplans
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 1994

"The lesson on feeling free to escape stereotypical roles is amply leavened by Dottie's blithe self-assurance and the gently satirical tone that pervades both the text and the author's cartoony illustrations. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Delicately limned as innocently pointy-nosed, Dottie's a dog who follows her own bent despite her worried parents. `` `Not in the GARDEN!' '' exclaims Dad when she insists on planting lettuces, `` `Gardens are for burying bones.' '' And, later, `` `Dogs don't grow things....Go out and chase a postman.' '' Undeterred but curious, Dottie conducts a small survey and finds several friends enjoying unexpected activities—a duck rollerskating, a cat sailing, a rabbit painting a picture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHRISTMAS COAL MAN by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"It's hard to dig up a new angle on Santa's cast of helpers, but the Coal Man is a nugget of originality. (Picture book. 4-7) "
A new helper for Santa is introduced as an elderly, elfin man who provides the lumps of coal for the stockings of naughty boys and girls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT’S UNDER THE BED? by Joe Fenton
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Sept. 2, 2008

"Is there something on the ground?' (Picture book. 3-7)"
It's nighttime, and Fred hears a noise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VACATION'S OVER! by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

They're not extinct, after all—they've just been on an interstellar cruise for a few million years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEFFY AND THE FEATHERED DINOSAURS by Joe Lillington
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"The art doesn't exactly soar, but younger readers may find these tidbits more digestible than the somewhat more technical anatomical details in Brenda Z. Guiberson and William Low's Feathered Dinosaurs (2016). (glossary, map) (Informational picture book. 7-9)"
A young microraptor meets several of her Cretaceous cousins on the way to learning how to use her own feathered limbs to glide. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY SPECIAL ONE AND ONLY by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2012

"Give to fans of Knuffle Bunny and to any child who appreciates an intense bond with a special toy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After getting a coin for her lost tooth, dynamic Bridget sets forth on what she thinks will be an exciting shopping trip only to find she must rescue her most beloved, "special one and only" Captain Cat toy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPENT by Joe Matt
by Joe Matt, illustrated by Joe Matt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2007

"Not for kids, though adult readers should take some pleasure knowing that they're better off than Matt, at least as depicted here."
The cartoonist tests the limits of pathetic self-absorption in a volume that should appeal to his cult following but is unlikely to expand it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: Dec. 1, 2015

"An invaluable resource for all young people on a gender quest. (supplemental Web content) (Nonfiction. 12-18)"
An open-ended workbook offers young people questioning their gender identity tools for thinking, feeling, and strategizing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I BECOME SHADOW by Joe Shine
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 10, 2014

"Read it for the satisfying action, not the love story. (Science fiction/thriller. 14-18)"
A secret international organization gets more than it bargained for when it kidnaps 14-year-old Rennes "Ren" Sharpe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SABOTAGE by Joe Craig
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"Mostly harmless spy nonsense. (Thriller. 8-12)"
Kid assassin Jimmy Coates runs from a corrupt British government and navigates a world on the brink of war. Read full book review >