Search Results: "Joe Sacco"


BOOK REVIEW

WAR’S END by Joe Sacco
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2005

"Worthy of a place on the shelf next to Safe Area Gorazde, The Fixer and Palestine. In just a few years, Sacco has created a body of work that includes some of the most important and relevant graphic novels of our time."
Two stories of unusual mirth from Europe's heart of darkness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 28, 2013

"Unique, devastating, indelible."
An illumination of a crucial battle within "the war to end all wars" redefines the power and possibilities of graphic narratives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 18, 2012

"A call for a new American revolution, passionately proclaimed."
An unabashedly polemic, angry manifesto that is certain to open eyes, intensify outrage and incite argument about corporate greed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2012

"Just like Times Square itself, the pages are filled to the brim. (sources) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
An unexpected history of a very famous intersection. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SWING by Joe Cepeda
by Joe Cepeda, illustrated by Joe Cepeda
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Engaging fantasy with bright watercolor illustrations. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Josey finds a virtual treasure trove, in a very unusual way. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JOE HILL
by Gregory McNamee

Climate change is a strange business: it’s turning hot places cold and cold places hot, making desert areas green and turning grasslands into desert. And then there’s what’s going on in Boulder, Colorado, where downpours of sharp steel shards are slicing the locals to ribbons, gruesome deaths first announced, as the narrator of Joe Hill’s novella Rain tells us, by ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHRISTMAS COAL MAN by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"It's hard to dig up a new angle on Santa's cast of helpers, but the Coal Man is a nugget of originality. (Picture book. 4-7) "
A new helper for Santa is introduced as an elderly, elfin man who provides the lumps of coal for the stockings of naughty boys and girls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT’S UNDER THE BED? by Joe Fenton
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Sept. 2, 2008

"Is there something on the ground?' (Picture book. 3-7)"
It's nighttime, and Fred hears a noise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VACATION'S OVER! by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

They're not extinct, after all—they've just been on an interstellar cruise for a few million years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEFFY AND THE FEATHERED DINOSAURS by Joe Lillington
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"The art doesn't exactly soar, but younger readers may find these tidbits more digestible than the somewhat more technical anatomical details in Brenda Z. Guiberson and William Low's Feathered Dinosaurs (2016). (glossary, map) (Informational picture book. 7-9)"
A young microraptor meets several of her Cretaceous cousins on the way to learning how to use her own feathered limbs to glide. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >