Search Results: "Joel Berger"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 1997

"Consider the black rhinoceros, and pity him too; without Cunningham and Berger in his corner, his future gets that much dimmer."
An object lesson in field research hazards—both the physical and the political. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIDGET FIDGET AND THE MOST PERFECT PET!  by Joe Berger
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"Familiar waters, sure, but it's the rare child who doesn't dream of having his or her very own Thunderhooves. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Bridget Fidget desperately wants a pet unicorn to name Thunderhooves, so when a giant box arrives downstairs marked "Fragile" (or, as she imagines, "Here's your new pet!") she dives right in, spreading Styrofoam pellets ("snow") all over the house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT! GOOD NIGHT! by Carin Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"Young readers will giggle over the bedtime jollity, while parents may recognize the familiar bedtime battle and see themselves in the mother rabbit whose love and patience prevail.(Picture book. 3-7)"
Three mischievous bunnies finally fall asleep in this playful look at the bedtime routine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 16, 1991

"An uncommonly useful book that should be a godsend to any family have a member afflicted with manic depression."
A harrowing account of manic depression, plus information about the disease, by Diane Berger, mother of a manic-depressive son, and Lisa Berger, her sister and a free-lance writer (Parade, Vogue, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BENTO'S SKETCHBOOK by John Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"Berger's readers will see with fresh eyes."
A deceptively brief volume offers profound meditations on art, the creative process and so much more. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JOEL SALINAS
by Laura Jenkins

Dr. Joel Salinas’ medical school mentor isn’t just a professor of psychiatry who studies the brain and behavior. Dr. Peg Nopoulos is also a combination of twos, threes and fives (heavy on the twos) as well as reds, violets, and oranges. Though that may sound like a psychedelic drug trip or some bizarre new-age reverie, Salinas is simply describing how ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

FACE TO FACE WITH GRIZZLIES by Joel Sartore
ANIMALS
Released: May 8, 2007

"A glossy picture essay that young nature fans will enjoy browsing. (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
Tracking grizzlies from Alaska to the Rocky Mountains, a frequent National Geographic photographer, in a first book for children, gives young readers a first-hand account of daily life of these huge endangered mammals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEXTER BEXLEY AND THE BIG BLUE BEASTIE ON THE ROAD by Joel Stewart
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"Readers will be perfectly happy just to be on the ride. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Dexter Bexley and the Big Blue Beastie are at it again in this entertaining sequel to their eponymous debut (2007). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CORKER'S FREEDOM by John Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 10, 1993

"An intermittently perceptive novel, then, that lacks the economy of Berger's later fiction."
How do we process experience? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FROM A TO X by John Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 25, 2008

"Berger's writing comes off as equal parts somber and exalted."
A novel comprised of a series of letters allegedly "recuperated" by Berger (Hold Everything Dear, 2007, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CONTAGIOUS by Jonah Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: March 5, 2013

"A provocative shift in focus from the technology of online transmission to the human element and a bold claim to explain 'how word of mouth and social influence work...[and] can [be used to] make any product or idea contagious.'"
A marketing professor at the Wharton School explains how fads are generated and why certain products, ideas and behaviors gain social currency. Read full book review >