Search Results: "Joel Berger"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 1997

"Consider the black rhinoceros, and pity him too; without Cunningham and Berger in his corner, his future gets that much dimmer."
An object lesson in field research hazards—both the physical and the political. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JOEL SALINAS
by Laura Jenkins

Dr. Joel Salinas’ medical school mentor isn’t just a professor of psychiatry who studies the brain and behavior. Dr. Peg Nopoulos is also a combination of twos, threes and fives (heavy on the twos) as well as reds, violets, and oranges. Though that may sound like a psychedelic drug trip or some bizarre new-age reverie, Salinas is simply describing how ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIDGET FIDGET AND THE MOST PERFECT PET!  by Joe Berger
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"Familiar waters, sure, but it's the rare child who doesn't dream of having his or her very own Thunderhooves. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Bridget Fidget desperately wants a pet unicorn to name Thunderhooves, so when a giant box arrives downstairs marked "Fragile" (or, as she imagines, "Here's your new pet!") she dives right in, spreading Styrofoam pellets ("snow") all over the house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT! GOOD NIGHT! by Carin Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"Young readers will giggle over the bedtime jollity, while parents may recognize the familiar bedtime battle and see themselves in the mother rabbit whose love and patience prevail.(Picture book. 3-7)"
Three mischievous bunnies finally fall asleep in this playful look at the bedtime routine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BENTO'S SKETCHBOOK by John Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"Berger's readers will see with fresh eyes."
A deceptively brief volume offers profound meditations on art, the creative process and so much more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 16, 1991

"An uncommonly useful book that should be a godsend to any family have a member afflicted with manic depression."
A harrowing account of manic depression, plus information about the disease, by Diane Berger, mother of a manic-depressive son, and Lisa Berger, her sister and a free-lance writer (Parade, Vogue, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FACE TO FACE WITH GRIZZLIES by Joel Sartore
ANIMALS
Released: May 8, 2007

"A glossy picture essay that young nature fans will enjoy browsing. (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
Tracking grizzlies from Alaska to the Rocky Mountains, a frequent National Geographic photographer, in a first book for children, gives young readers a first-hand account of daily life of these huge endangered mammals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I DREAMED I WAS A DOG by Joel  Nakamura
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 21, 2017

"A messy assemblage of convenient pieces that doesn't add up to a satisfying whole. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Dream stories might not be straightforward, but they can be disappointing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEXTER BEXLEY AND THE BIG BLUE BEASTIE ON THE ROAD by Joel Stewart
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"Readers will be perfectly happy just to be on the ride. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Dexter Bexley and the Big Blue Beastie are at it again in this entertaining sequel to their eponymous debut (2007). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 1999

"Old-time basketball fans will enjoy remembering Pistol Pete, and young fans will be introduced to the player who left such a mark on the sport at a time when showmanship on the hardwood was not the norm. (16 pages b&w photos)"
An informative biography of the legendary basketball player who died suddenly in 1988 at the age of 40 because of a congenital heart defect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONCE IN EUROPE by John Berger
Released: Feb. 15, 1987

"His trilogy moves serenely forward."
This second volume in Berger's projected trilogy on French peasant life (the first, Pig Earth, was published in 1980) comprises four short stories dealing with love, loss, solitude and survival. Read full book review >