Search Results: "John Jeter"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2012

"A hard, sobering look at what it really takes to bring live music to the fans."
Musical memoir from the owner of venerable Greenville, S.C., music venue The Handlebar. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOLF FLOW by K.W. Jeter
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 1992

"Gripping in patches, then, but the patches conceal a number of leaks."
Gritty, spare but rather empty horror yarn from the author of Dr. Adder, Farewell, Horizontal, Infernal Devices, etc. Vicious drug-dealer Aitch and his reluctant sidekick Charlie beat their erstwhile partner Mike, a doctor and drug addict, to a pulp, then throw him from a car in the high desert of eastern Oregon following an attempted double-cross. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 9, 1995

"Long-winded and aimless, with neither the gloomy brilliance of Scott nor the unsettling psychological qualms of Dick."
Ridley Scott's 1982 film noir, Blade Runner, was based on a Philip K. Dick novel, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIENDISH SCHEMES by K.W. Jeter
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 15, 2013

"An impressive enterprise that moves very, very slowly."
Belated sequel to Infernal Devices (1987), the iconic Victorian fantasy for which the author himself coined the term "steampunk." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOIR by K.W. Jeter
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Nov. 9, 1998

"Overall, it doesn't add up to anything in particular, but it's an uncommon experience nonetheless."
Another grimly dystopian, futuristic puzzler from the author of Blade Runner 2 (1995), etc. By the mid-21st century, the California coast is one vast city known as the Gloss, where it's perfectly okay to murder illegal immigrants so long as you notify the police beforehand. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 11, 2009

"Jeter overreaches, but he usefully exposes the underbelly of the free-market system."
Journalist Jeter indicts globalization. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BASEBALL GENIUS by Tim Green
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 7, 2017

"A bunt at best, but Green's a good enough storyteller to keep readers in the game. (Fiction. 10-13)"
Hooking up with a renowned shortstop-turned-publisher, Green shows that the premise of his Football Genius (2007) plays just as well in another sport. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAIR BALL by Derek Jeter
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"Fans of Jeter and Mantell's earlier books will find more of the same here. (Fiction. 8-10)"
Crises loom when a close friend suddenly turns standoffish, and the distraction affects young Derek's play on the field. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HIT & MISS by Derek Jeter
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 28, 2015

"An altogether trite, values-driven star vehicle—worthy of purpose but aside from occasional game action, as dull as a rain delay. (Fiction. 7-9)"
Fourth-grader "Derek" works his way through a batting slump, pulls an outsider into his circle of friends, and atones for being a bully in this semiautobiographical sequel co-authored by the recently retired Yankees captain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CONTRACT by Derek Jeter
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"Plenty of baseball action, but the paint-by-numbers plot is just a vehicle for equally standard-issue advice. (foundation ad and curriculum guide, not seen). (Fiction. 7-9)"
For his eponymous imprint, the New York Yankees star leads off with a self-referential tale of Little League triumphs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOUR SPIRITS by Sena Jeter Naslund
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 2, 2003

"A great subject, poorly treated. Surely Naslund can do better than this."
The earnest, accusatory latest from the versatile Alabama author (Ahab's Wife<\I>, 1999, etc.), this time about the struggle for civil rights in Birmingham in the annus horribilis of 1963 and thereafter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FOUNTAIN OF ST. JAMES COURT by Sena Jeter Naslund
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 17, 2013

"Leslie's compliment that Kathryn's work is 'lined with silken sentences' holds true for Naslund (Adam and Eve, 2010). Nevertheless, the tone of literary high-mindedness and self-importance grows wearing after a while."
Despite a subtitle that clearly refers to James Joyce, Virginia Woolf echoes far louder in this novel within a novel following one day in the life of a 60-ish author of a fictional biography about the 18th-century portraitist of Marie Antoinette. Read full book review >