Search Results: "John duVal"


BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT SPRUCE by John Duvall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 18, 2016

"A pleasant holiday story with a subtle hint to protect living trees instead of cutting them down. (author's note) (Picture book. 4-8)"
A boy named Alec saves his family's huge spruce tree from being cut down as a Christmas tree. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A CHILD OF RAPE by John duVal
Released: Jan. 15, 2011

"A rollicking, complex read.
"
A densely plotted, gay coming-of-age novel starring the talented Erik, whose lengthy history is half hard-boiled Jim Thompson mayhem and half Martha Grimes youthful fantasia, heavily laden with crime, war (both international and domestic), alcoholism and, ultimately, personal triumph. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 9, 2010

"Well-intentioned but repetitive and too hypothetical."
Political treatise suggesting that the wired and tolerant under-30 "millennials" must apply open-source principles to the process of governance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INDEPENDENCE LOST by Kathleen DuVal
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 7, 2015

"An illuminating history of events, many barely mentioned in history books and none, unlike our Revolution, with happy endings."
An informative and disturbing account of a little-known campaign during the Colonial rebellion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BEAR'S YEAR by Kathy Duval
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"A slow, soft read-aloud, good for bedtime or when Bear Snores On is too rowdy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In short rhyming text, a mother bear and her cubs experience a year of changing seasons until it's time to hibernate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE THREE BEARS’ CHRISTMAS by Kathy Duval
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2005

"Preschool teachers will want to add this holiday version of 'The Three Bears' to their repertoire of 'just-right' tales for holiday story times. (Picture book. 2-6)"
It's Christmas Eve at the house of the Three Bears in their little cabin in the woods. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 15, 2011

"Achieves the neat trick of presenting moral values in a persuasive and uplifting way without being preachy or boring.
"
In this novel by a 9/11 survivor, chance plays a major role in the lives of two best friends—but character plays an even bigger one. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REAR VIEW by Pete Duval
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 28, 2004

"Still, an impressive start for this Bakeless Prize winner (2003) with a lean, efficient style and an understanding of the brutality of life on the economic margins."
Twelve stories, many set in New Bedford, in the tradition of Andre Dubus and Raymond Carver, illuminate the lives of working-class people with moments of rare beauty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TAKE ME TO YOUR BBQ by Kathy Duval
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 12, 2013

"The knee-slapping humor, retro feel of the illustrations and the included recipe for Willy's special sauce serve up some spicy preschool fun. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Many people boast that their barbecue is out of this world, but Willy's fine-smelling and lip-smacking meal attracts visitors from outer space. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE THREE BEARS’ HALLOWEEN by Kathy Duval
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2007

"A good addition to fairy-tale and Halloween collections. (Picture book. 3-8)"
The three bears get a trick from Goldilocks in this Halloween treat. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ROAD TRIPPIN’ IT WITH JOHN BURNINGHAM
by Julie Danielson

The holidays are nigh. I wrote this time last year about my favorite holiday picture book of all time – John Burningham’s Harvey Slumfenburger’s Christmas Present, originally published back in 1993.

I’m a big Burningham fan. (If you are, too, and you’ve not yet read this, run to your nearest bookstore or library.) And in thinking about Harvey, I was ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

LETTERS TO A YOUNG GOLFER by Bob Duval
NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 2001

"Well-meaning advice and certainly hard-won, but the gist could fit onto a postcard."
Golf (and life) tips from a member of the PGA Senior Tour and father of PGA talent David Duval. Read full book review >