Search Results: "Jonah Berger"


BOOK REVIEW

INVISIBLE INFLUENCE by Jonah Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: June 14, 2016

"Of particular interest to those selling messages of various stripes—marketers, advertisers, etc."
If Johnny told you to jump off a cliff, would you do it? If you're susceptible, like most people, to garden-variety social influence, then the answer is likely to be yes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CONTAGIOUS by Jonah Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: March 5, 2013

"A provocative shift in focus from the technology of online transmission to the human element and a bold claim to explain 'how word of mouth and social influence work...[and] can [be used to] make any product or idea contagious.'"
A marketing professor at the Wharton School explains how fads are generated and why certain products, ideas and behaviors gain social currency. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 1, 2001

"To be continued. (Fiction. YA)"
Laugh-out-loud funny, this engaging, high-concept novel about a 17-year-old boy's world, both real and imaginary, is a story that teases, building up reader suspense and expectation then refusing to deliver. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST BOOK EVER WRITTEN by Jonah Kruvant
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 28, 2015

"A bit familiar but exciting nonetheless."
In a future dictatorship, detective Victor Vale starts questioning authority when, to infiltrate a dissident cell, he goes undercover as a writer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"More personal information about Blank would have been welcome; even so, a delightfully offbeat travelogue."
Part travel-journal, part retelling of an Indian epic, part cultural and political analysis, this first book by a former editor of Tokyo's Asahi Evening News is both eclectic and ambitious. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROUST WAS A NEUROSCIENTIST by Jonah Lehrer
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2007

"Solid science journalism with an essayist's flair."
Would George Eliot have been better looking if she'd put on a pair of lab goggles? Would Paul Cézanne have seen any better? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BOOK ABOUT LOVE by Jonah Lehrer
NON-FICTION
Released: July 12, 2016

"While the book adequately covers a good deal of research and systematically examines the rewards and challenges of intimacy, it doesn't make love sound like a whole lot of fun."
Journalist Lehrer addresses the power of human attachment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIDGET FIDGET AND THE MOST PERFECT PET!  by Joe Berger
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"Familiar waters, sure, but it's the rare child who doesn't dream of having his or her very own Thunderhooves. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Bridget Fidget desperately wants a pet unicorn to name Thunderhooves, so when a giant box arrives downstairs marked "Fragile" (or, as she imagines, "Here's your new pet!") she dives right in, spreading Styrofoam pellets ("snow") all over the house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT! GOOD NIGHT! by Carin Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"Young readers will giggle over the bedtime jollity, while parents may recognize the familiar bedtime battle and see themselves in the mother rabbit whose love and patience prevail.(Picture book. 3-7)"
Three mischievous bunnies finally fall asleep in this playful look at the bedtime routine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BENTO'S SKETCHBOOK by John Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"Berger's readers will see with fresh eyes."
A deceptively brief volume offers profound meditations on art, the creative process and so much more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 16, 1991

"An uncommonly useful book that should be a godsend to any family have a member afflicted with manic depression."
A harrowing account of manic depression, plus information about the disease, by Diane Berger, mother of a manic-depressive son, and Lisa Berger, her sister and a free-lance writer (Parade, Vogue, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >