Search Results: "Joseph Rector"


BOOK REVIEW

THE RUBY SEAT by Joseph Rector
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2014

"A gentle, masterful exploration of growing up and coming to terms with the past."
A novel about growing pains, redemption and the steady presence of the natural world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2004

"Notes from Krull on keeping a diary, from Anne Elizabeth's granddaughter, and a summary of the rest of her life (she did become an artist, and she did make a living at it) are a bonus. (notes, index) (Nonfiction. 9-14)"
A marvelous confluence of text and image, history and research, family and locale makes this a deeply appealing title. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LET'S GO TRAVELING IN MEXICO by Robin Rector  Krupp
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 1996

"Broad in scope, informative, and fun to read. (chronology, maps) (Picture book. 5+)"
A guided tour through Mexico led by the mythical Quetzalc¢atl, a creature that is half-bird and half-snake. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRIA AND THE GREAT STAR RESCUE by Rebecca Kraft Rector
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"It's an awkward debut, hung about with massive coincidences and typecast supporting characters, but Rector writes easy, engaging prose, and never lets the pace lag for longwinded explanations. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Fans of Sadler's Zenon Kar, Girl of the 21st Century (2001), take note: here's another futuristic adventure featuring a plucky but vulnerable preteen saving the day while fussing over personal issues. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RAINBOW AND YOU by E.C. Krupp
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 30, 2000

"Skipping as it does over so much territory, this refreshing break from the many conventional treatments of the subject is more a consciousness-raiser than a book of specific facts or projects for young experimenters. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-8)"
The enthusiasm that lights up the Krupps' previous science books (The Moon and You, 1993, etc.) shines in this busy disquisition on rainbows. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JOSEPH KANON
by Clayton Moore

In an age when America’s intelligence services aren’t always portrayed in the best light, Joseph Kanon’s new novel about the Cold War seems starkly elegant by comparison. In our starred review, Kirkus says of Defectors, “...not since Le Carré’s A Perfect Spy has there been a family of spooks to rival this one.”

The novel is an intimate ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

JOSEPH SCAPELLATO
by Richard Z. Santos

Joseph Scapellato isn’t from the west—he grew up in suburban Chicago—but like so many Americans, the mythic west was always nearby.  “My mom was and is an enormous fan of golden age Westerns: Gene Autry, Roy Rogers, all those dudes in white hats,” Scapellato says. “I grew up watching those, and she accumulated all these cowboy tchotchkes. I grew ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

Luke's Daughters by Jenna Gianato Calovini
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 11, 2013

"A coming-of-age memoir with charm and promise, though it's oddly incomplete."
This memoir recounts a young girl's experiences growing up in a West Virginia coal town in the 1950s and 1960s. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEYOND THE POND by Joseph Kuefler
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"Glints of potential elevate an otherwise derivative, digitally composed debut. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Ernest D. transcends the ordinary by diving deep into his pond, encountering fantastic scenes that ultimately enhance his appreciation of home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRASH by Joseph Monninger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"However, they have always had a hatchet, and many youngsters will wish the characters had read the classic of the same name. (Adventure. 8-12)"
The premise in this first adventure in the Stay Alive series feels familiar and cannot claim the originality or authenticity of Gary Paulsen's Hatchet (1987); neither does it show the careful characterization and scene setting of the author's own books for teens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAVE-IN by Joseph Monninger
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 25, 2014

"For a more gripping and nuanced portrayal of individuals pushing and pulling together, try Fallout by Todd Strasser (2013). (Adventure. 8-12)"
With this second book in the Stay Alive series, youngsters will see a formula emerge: A group of children in the care of mostly ineffective adults are in a remote location when disaster strikes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A NEW DARKNESS by Joseph Delaney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"Promising but questionably formed. (Grimalkin's notes, glossary) (Fantasy. 10-14)"
Newly minted spook Tom Ward takes on a surprising new apprentice and investigates a gathering storm in the first installment in this Last Apprentice sequel series. Read full book review >