Search Results: "Joyce Wan"


BOOK REVIEW

THE WHALE IN MY SWIMMING POOL by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 7, 2015

"Both very silly and very appealing. (Picture book. 4-6)"
A little boy of pleasingly indeterminate ethnicity goes out to his little backyard inflatable pool to find a whale in it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEEK-A-BOO ZOO by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 30, 2015

"There's a reason peekaboo is such an enduring game, and this printed riff should see plenty of use. (Board book. 9-18 mos.)"
All sorts of animals join in a game of peekaboo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FROG & FRIENDS by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 27, 2013

"An engaging riddle book with standout illustrations, especially the final foldout, which is filled with merry creatures being regarded by a cheerful sun and a content, pigtailed little girl. (Board book. 1-4)"
This appealing offering presents a series of clues to a riddle with the answer revealed on a final, fold-out page. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEEK-A-BOO FARM by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 25, 2015

"In all, a charming introduction to the familiar animals of the farm for youngsters. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
A "guess who" game for very young children introduces seven animals they might meet on a farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY LUCKY LITTLE DRAGON by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"While little ones will not get the analogies, they will be drawn to the playful images and loving message. (Board book. 3-18 mos.)"
A baby's attributes are compared to a variety of animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARE YOU MY MOMMY? by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"A sweet and satisfying quest. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
A small bunny searches for its mother and learns all about barnyard animals along the way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLEEPYHEADS by Sandra J. Howatt
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 6, 2014

"A superb execution of soporific shapes and sounds perfect for the bedside table. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Sleepyhead readers explore a hushed woodland at dusk, where they discover animals nestled in their cozy places at bedtime. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU ARE MY MERRY LITTLE CHRISTMAS by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"A sweet and smart introduction to the Christmas holiday. (Board book. 1-2)"
The spirit of Christmas is found within. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU ARE MY PUMPKIN by Joyce Wan
Released: June 28, 2016

"While this is not an essential purchase, most little pumpkins will love being told, 'Baby, I'm batty for you!' (Board book. 6 mos.-3)"
Young children won't understand the metaphors but will appreciate the sentiment made clear by the repeated, Halloween-themed declarations of love in Wan's latest board book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M NOT TRICK-OR-TREATING by Laura Gehl
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"Goes down easily for those youngsters who are similarly frightened, and Peep's corny jokes should be added to every repertoire. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Peep and Egg are back, and this time big sibling Peep is trying to convince Egg to go trick-or-treating. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUG MEETS PIG by Sue Lowell Gallion
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"A mildly humorous story that doesn't really stand out in the crowded arena of interspecies friendship. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A little dog named Pug is perfectly happy in his cozy, suburban world until pushy Pig moves in. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU ARE MY CUPCAKE by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 30, 2016

"A nice stand-in until little ones are ready for the real thing. (Cloth book. 0-6 mos.)"
Sweet, endearing words and edibles take center stage in this cloth book for the absolute youngest of readers. Read full book review >