Search Results: "Joyce Wan"


BOOK REVIEW

THE WHALE IN MY SWIMMING POOL by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 7, 2015

"Both very silly and very appealing. (Picture book. 4-6)"
A little boy of pleasingly indeterminate ethnicity goes out to his little backyard inflatable pool to find a whale in it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEEK-A-BOO FARM by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 25, 2015

"In all, a charming introduction to the familiar animals of the farm for youngsters. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
A "guess who" game for very young children introduces seven animals they might meet on a farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY LUCKY LITTLE DRAGON by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"While little ones will not get the analogies, they will be drawn to the playful images and loving message. (Board book. 3-18 mos.)"
A baby's attributes are compared to a variety of animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEEK-A-BOO ZOO by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 30, 2015

"There's a reason peekaboo is such an enduring game, and this printed riff should see plenty of use. (Board book. 9-18 mos.)"
All sorts of animals join in a game of peekaboo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FROG & FRIENDS by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 27, 2013

"An engaging riddle book with standout illustrations, especially the final foldout, which is filled with merry creatures being regarded by a cheerful sun and a content, pigtailed little girl. (Board book. 1-4)"
This appealing offering presents a series of clues to a riddle with the answer revealed on a final, fold-out page. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARE YOU MY MOMMY? by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"A sweet and satisfying quest. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
A small bunny searches for its mother and learns all about barnyard animals along the way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLEEPYHEADS by Sandra J. Howatt
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 6, 2014

"A superb execution of soporific shapes and sounds perfect for the bedside table. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Sleepyhead readers explore a hushed woodland at dusk, where they discover animals nestled in their cozy places at bedtime. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU ARE MY PUMPKIN by Joyce Wan
Released: June 28, 2016

"While this is not an essential purchase, most little pumpkins will love being told, 'Baby, I'm batty for you!' (Board book. 6 mos.-3)"
Young children won't understand the metaphors but will appreciate the sentiment made clear by the repeated, Halloween-themed declarations of love in Wan's latest board book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU ARE MY MERRY LITTLE CHRISTMAS by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"A sweet and smart introduction to the Christmas holiday. (Board book. 1-2)"
The spirit of Christmas is found within. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT, SWEETIE by Joyce Wan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"The cover, embossed and sparkly, may attract infants and toddlers, but the illustrations and the text do not make a connection that demands repeated readings. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
Author/illustrator Wan (You Are My Pumpkin, 2016, etc.) employs her characteristic digital illustrations inspired by Japanese pop art to introduce objects associated with bedtime in this board book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEEP AND EGG by Laura Gehl
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 24, 2017

"Another delightful addition to the series. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Peep and Egg are back, and this time Egg will not take a bath, in spite of obvious need. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M NOT USING THE POTTY by Laura Gehl
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 13, 2018

"A good book to help little ones who feel a bit chicken about using the potty. (Picture book. 1-3)"
Can Peep convince Egg to overcome fears and use the potty? Read full book review >