Search Results: "Judi Abbot"


BOOK REVIEW

TRAIN! by Judi Abbot
by Judi Abbot, illustrated by Judi Abbot
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 4, 2014

"While this isn't guaranteed to lessen readers' own obsessions, it sure is fun to read aloud. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A train ride is a mind-opening experience for a young train lover. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE MOM by Joanna Walsh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 16, 2014

"Books about moms and their appreciative children abound. Pass on this lackluster offering. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A mother tiger and her two cubs show their love for each other in this slim tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BIGGEST KISS by Joanna Walsh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 20, 2011

"Although a bit on the slight side, this offering is infused with a warm, light humor just right for cuddling up with a young tyke or sharing with a gathering for storytime. (Picture book. 2-5)"
This title previously published in the U.K. takes a cozy look at all kinds of kisses. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE YOU, BABY! by Claire Freedman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"Sure to find love on the baby-shower circuit. (Picture book. 1-3)"
A love song of sorts from parent to child, illustrated with animal families and a surfeit of snuggles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GLITTER by Stella J. Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2017

"For little artists eager to spread some cheer with their glitter pens—on paper, of course. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Gloria, a little rhino, loves to spread "glittery happiness" in all her ventures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE DAD by Joanna Walsh
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 12, 2016

"Better books about loving fathers and the things they do for their children abound. (Picture book. 4-7)"
I Love Mom (2014) gets its companion title from Walsh and Abbot. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY GRANDPARENTS LOVE ME by Claire Freedman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 30, 2016

"Sweet and appealing for the preschool set and a winning gift purchase for the grandparent crowd. (Picture book. 3-5)"
The extraordinary bond a young child enjoys with a grandparent is expressed through a series of activities they share. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANDPA'S CLOUDY WITH A CHANCE OF MEATBALLS COOKBOOK by Judi Barrett
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 27, 2013

"Keep handy for that gloomy day when a 'Spaghetti Twister with a Tomato Tornado' might blow in or as an amusing how-to title to help children discover the possible satisfying results that can come when following directions. (Cookbook. 5-8)"
Old and new fans of the classic tale of food delivered three times a day by the weather can tie on an apron, sharpen their culinary skills and dig in to 25 recipes inspired by the beloved book. Read full book review >