Search Results: "Judith L. Li"


BOOK REVIEW

ELLIE'S LOG by Judith L.  Li
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"Still, this combination of science and storytelling models good nature journaling and would be a helpful addition to a home or classroom in the region where such work is being encouraged. (suggested reading) (Nonfiction. 8-11)"
After a huge tree falls in the forest behind her home, fifth-grader Ellie explores the area with her classmate Ricky, mapping and sketching and learning about what lives, dies and changes there. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

GOOSEBUMPS
by Leila Roy

When sleep finally comes, I sink into a murky world of shadows. There is a tunnel before me, with bright light in the distance. The ground rumbles. White fog surrounds me. My heart is pounding. Something is coming, but I do not know what, and only feel its presence, a terrible shadow that slithers along the ground, leaving a trail ...

Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHAT I'M WATCHING FOR THIS OCTOBER
by Leila Roy

New month, new books! This month, there are so very many that I want to read that I’m going to list my five MOST EAGERLY ANTICIPATED titles at the top, and then quick notes on Everything Else. (And there is a Quite A Lot of Everything Else.)

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, by Erika L. Sánchez

I’ve been ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SERENDIPITY & ME by Judith L.  Roth
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 7, 2013

"Ultimately the predictable story arc and limited character development prevent this novel in verse from channeling the charm of the eponymous fluffy kitten that appears on the cover. (Verse/fiction. 9-12)"
Overly deliberate plotting and uneven writing weigh down Roth's debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 9, 2001

"A stirring but fair account of courage in the face of infamous behavior."
A searing chronicle of the indomitable courage of an American POW as he struggles to survive the cruel, inhumane, and often sadistic treatment meted out by his Japanese captors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The View from Casa Chepitos by Judith L. Gille
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 15, 2013

"A travelogue that comes alive with colorful detail."
Gille grabs a second chance at life by buying a home in San Miguel de Allende. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG CITY EXPLORER by Maggie Li
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2016

"Problematic for libraries due to the detachable token, but like Mary Javins' 3-D World Atlas and Tour (2008), the gimmick isn't indispensable to the journey. (review quizzes) (Informational novelty. 6-8)"
A penguin guide conducts prospective tourists on a whirlwind flight over 28 world cities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AMAZING DINOSAUR DETECTIVES by Maggie Li
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2017

"Dinosaur fans will have no trouble digging up better surveys. (glossary, quiz) (Informational picture book. 6-8)"
A barrage of dino names and facts, with fanciful cartoon illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AMAZING HUMAN BODY DETECTIVES by Maggie Li
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2016

"An inviting introduction for curious children from pre-K through early elementary school, but unfamiliar terms may require a little extra interpretation. (Nonfiction. 4-8)"
Colorful schematic illustrations and miniature detectives introduce major body parts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SNOW FALLING IN SPRING by Moying Li
HISTORY
Released: March 19, 2008

"Combined with The Diary of Ma Yan (2005), readers can begin to know about education and life in modern China. (chronology, glossary) (Nonfiction. 12-16)"
When Li was 12 years old, the Chinese Cultural Revolution began and changed life in that nation. Read full book review >