Search Results: "Judith Stacey"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 2, 2011

"Clever and practical blend of research, history and anecdote."
A candid unearthing of veiled and inviolable topics related to relationships and marriage. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 24, 1996

A defense of the blended, extended, and amended families that have replaced Ozzie and Harriet and the Cleavers as typically American. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIND SPOT! by Stacey Previn
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 17, 2014

"The concepts have gone slightly askew, but the book can spark discussion, which just might be the only educational bent needed. (Picture book. 2-5)"
In a style reminiscent of Laura Vaccaro Seeger, Previn uses die cuts and simple phrasing to explore many different kinds of spots. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

THE SECRET'S OUT
by Leila Roy

While there’s no explicit rule against romantic relationships, our colonial ancestor jinxed them in her Last Word: “Beware ye aromateur; lay your traps of love, but do not yourself get caught.” Fall in love and, like Aunt Bryony, lose your supersniffer. It’s why Mother chose my father from a list of donors she got in the mail like a ...

Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

IF SNOWFLAKES TASTED LIKE FRUITCAKE by Stacey Previn
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"Like the fruitcake-flavored flakes, pass on this one. (Picture book. 4-8)"
An imaginative look at snowflakes and what we might do with them if they tasted of anything but winter. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

YOU HAVEN’T DIED OF DYSENTERY. YET.
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

BFF Charm: Platinum Edition x 2

Swoonworthy Scale: 7

Talky Talk: Going Out West

Bonus Factors: Diversity, Oregon Trail, Shakespearean Retelling

Relationship Status: Friends Forever

 

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

I adore this cover. It’s so simple, but manages to incorporate so many story references: the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

I FEEL THE EARTH MOVE UNDER MY FEET
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

BFF Charm: Platinum Edition

Swoonworthy Scale: 5

Talky Talk: I Feel The Sky Come Tumbling

Bonus Factors: San Francisco, Diversity, Boarding School

Relationship Status: I Feel My Heart Start Trembling Whenever You’re Around

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

Boy, has Stacey Lee ever lucked out with covers! I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HUNT by Stacey Kade
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 22, 2014

"Overcoming a melodramatic start, this page-turner accelerates to a taut climax with full marks for the cliffhanger ending. (Science fiction/romance. 12-18)"
Desperate and on the run from GTX, Ariane needs the secret, emergency cache that Mark, her stepfather, hid for her, but relief at finding it is short-lived when she discovers the letter he left with it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS OF THORNS by Stacey Jay
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Dec. 9, 2014

"Those able to overlook the incomplete worldbuilding will find the compelling, fully fleshed romance and gems of truth scattered throughout the story satisfying and worth the effort. (Fantasy. 14 & up)"
Exiled warrior-princess Aurora, the Sleeping Beauty's daughter, attempts to save her brother and reclaim her throne. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU ARE SO UNDEAD TO ME by Stacey Jay
FANTASY
Released: March 1, 2009

"Further, the unabashed borrowing from other works—when in danger, the hero experiences a Harry Potter-esque burning sensation in her scar—force comparisons that this uninspired horror-comedy would do better to avoid. (Horror. 13 & up)"
Zombie horror meets high-school drama in this derivative comedy about a girl who yearns for a normal life even as she struggles to master her role as a Settler of the undead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOR THIS LIFE ONLY by Stacey Kade
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 30, 2016

"Poignant and powerful. (Fiction. 14-18)"
When Jacob's near-death experience fails to live up to his Christian beliefs, he is desperate to find out the truth. The person he turns to in his fear and doubt shocks even him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2002

"Roots of neurosis dug from a darkened, long-ago room."
Prolific magazine writer Stacey, whose praiseworthy debut (Consumed, 1997) examined America's obsession with food, resurrects from Victorian medical annals the clamor and intrigue once surrounding a celebrated case. Read full book review >