Search Results: "Judy Stacey Goldman"


BOOK REVIEW

THE FLAVOR OF JERUSALEM by Joan Nathan
NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 1975

"An enthusiastic culinary tour with a personal feel and a travel-book touch to complement those Middle Eastern and Mitteleuropaeisch flavors."
From the small (pop. 300,000) ancient city where East meets West and the three major religions of the world sit down to table together, two spirited free-lancers who met while working in the office of Jerusalem Mayor Teddy Kollek (though Joan's from Providence and Judy's from Montreal) have compiled favorite recipes and personality profiles from the colorful heterogeneity of the local citizens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 6, 2015

"A solid resource for parents and educators working with middle school girls; the program goals can be adapted to other issues."
Leadership consultant Radin's debut book describes her after-school program that empowers middle school girls through animal rescue. The book was co-authored by health and fitness writer Goldman (Locker Room Diaries: The Naked Truth about Women, Body Image, and Re-imagining the "Perfect" Body, 2006, etc.).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EARLY LEAVING by Judy Goldman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 21, 2004

"An odd combination of vehement message and purposely ambiguous characters: admirable but not entirely enjoyable."
Second-novelist Goldman (The Slow Way Back, not reviewed) adds to the mini-genre of "Where did I go wrong as a mother?" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOSING MY SISTER by Judy Goldman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"An occasionally poignant but mostly dismal memoir of loss and its many manifestations."
A chronicle of the relationship between two sisters struggling to "solve the mystery of individuality and connection." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KOPECKS FOR BLINTZES by Judy Goldman
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2016

"It's hard to go wrong with a story about Chelm. (author's note) (Picture book. 4-6)"
A poor teacher and his wife worry that they won't be able to afford to celebrate the Shavuot holiday with traditional blintzes and hatch a savings plan with good intentions but ridiculous results. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHISKERS, TAILS & WINGS by Judy Goldman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2013

"One of the most satisfying folklore collections in recent memory. (Folk tales. 7-11)"
Five animated, traditional tales are enhanced by ethnographic information about the indigenous peoples who still tell these stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNCLE MONARCH AND THE DAY OF THE DEAD by Judy Goldman
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2008

"Try George Ancona's Pablo Remembers: The Fiesta of the Day of the Dead (1993), with its vibrant photos, to give readers a stronger experience of the holiday. (glossary, note) (Picture book. 6-8)"
Lupita's uncle dies a few days before the important celebration of Día de Muertos, when the souls of the dead are welcomed back by friends and relatives with special foods and flowers in cemeteries. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

THE SECRET'S OUT
by Leila Roy

While there’s no explicit rule against romantic relationships, our colonial ancestor jinxed them in her Last Word: “Beware ye aromateur; lay your traps of love, but do not yourself get caught.” Fall in love and, like Aunt Bryony, lose your supersniffer. It’s why Mother chose my father from a list of donors she got in the mail like a ...

Read the full post >

BLOG POST

YOU HAVEN’T DIED OF DYSENTERY. YET.
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

BFF Charm: Platinum Edition x 2

Swoonworthy Scale: 7

Talky Talk: Going Out West

Bonus Factors: Diversity, Oregon Trail, Shakespearean Retelling

Relationship Status: Friends Forever

 

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

I adore this cover. It’s so simple, but manages to incorporate so many story references: the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

I FEEL THE EARTH MOVE UNDER MY FEET
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

BFF Charm: Platinum Edition

Swoonworthy Scale: 5

Talky Talk: I Feel The Sky Come Tumbling

Bonus Factors: San Francisco, Diversity, Boarding School

Relationship Status: I Feel My Heart Start Trembling Whenever You’re Around

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

Boy, has Stacey Lee ever lucked out with covers! I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

LOLA AND TATTLETALE ZEKE by Marcia Goldman
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 18, 2015

"An unfocused effort overall, both in illustration quality and in plot development. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A tiny Yorkshire terrier named Lola narrates her third entry in a series, this time focusing on a new addition to the family, her fellow Yorkie named Zeke. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF SNOWFLAKES TASTED LIKE FRUITCAKE by Stacey Previn
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"Like the fruitcake-flavored flakes, pass on this one. (Picture book. 4-8)"
An imaginative look at snowflakes and what we might do with them if they tasted of anything but winter. Read full book review >