Search Results: "Jules Hardy"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 2, 1995

"At his best, however, Seymour-Smith plays well the delicate game of reading Hardy's novels and poetry as biographical sources while chastising the critics who substitute sensational speculation for an acknowledgment that sometimes a writer just makes things up."
A scrupulous and contentious investigation of Hardy's (18401928) life and work, striking a sensible balance among his melodramatic Wessex novels, his impassioned and pessimistic poetry, and a life more mundane than other biographies have presumed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE EARTH by Jules Hardy
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 15, 2006

"Exhausting and disappointing."
The formation and disintegration of a family, overshadowed by the rape of Alaska. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 15, 2007

"A richly introspective biography sure to rekindle interest in Hardy's writing."
Another wonderfully readable life by veteran biographer and journalist Tomalin (Samuel Pepys, 2002, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 1993

"B&w photos, engravings, etc.—very dark; bibliography (a dozen books, undifferentiated between sources and books for young readers); notes; index. (Nonfiction. 11+)"
At 22, Verne was so poor that his dinner often consisted of prunes; by the time he was 50, he was rich and widely lauded. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 15, 1965

"Good point, good book."
This is an excellent biography of the Frenchman who masterminded the 19th century classics of science fiction and whose imaginative projections of submarine life and aerial conquest have become matters of fact in the mid-20th century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 1997

"Lottman does his best to inject a bit of drama into his subject's rather quiet life, examining every small incident he can unearth, but in the end there is little here to keep even the most dedicated Verne fan awake."
An unsurprising biography of one of the founding fathers of science fiction, by a specialist in French literature and culture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (AS HERSELF) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Though not as distinctive as Clementine, Jules eventually settles, becoming a vulnerable and likable heroine. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Seven-year-old Jules has been asked to audition for a television commercial. But she needs help. Will she turn to her know-it-all ex-best friend for it? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WAITING FOR JULES by Tamara N. Houston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"A fairy tale riddled with minor characters whose quirks are more intriguing than Jules' quest for a conventional romance."
A cab ride home from the airport gives Jules Sinclair time to reflect. After an argument filled with accusations and recriminations, will Marcus be home? Or has she lost him forever? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (IN DRAMA-RAMA) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 27, 2013

"Still, Jules is a lovable star with good friends and a supportive family, living a frenetic city life that is constantly entertaining. Fans of Clementine and Gooney Bird Greene will look forward to the next book in the series. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Second-grader Jules Bloom returns for another audition (Starring Jules (as Herself), 2013)—this time for a television sitcom—with New York City-sized tension and hilarity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FLIGHT OF GEMMA HARDY by Margot Livesey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 24, 2012

"Nicely, touchingly done, and the familiar story exerts its reliably magnetic pull, but fans of JaneEyre will wonder why."
A clever orphan girl, mistreated by relatives, then sent to suffer cruelly at boarding school, finds heartbreak and eventual heartsease with a brooding older man. Sound familiar? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PHANTOM OF THOMAS HARDY by Floyd Skloot
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 27, 2016

"A sporadically insightful, intermittently entertaining blend of memoir, literary history, and fabulist speculation."
A man and his wife, Americans, go to England to visit sites associated with the writer Thomas Hardy; while there, the man sees Hardy in an apparition: "Something I missed," the phantom whispers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (SUPER-SECRET SPY GIRL) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"Fans of Jules' previous books will enjoy seeing the soon-to-be-third-grader back in action as she exuberantly experiences the busy life of a budding television and film star. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Even though she'll be spending it in Quebec filming a movie, child actress Jules' summer is not off to a good start. Read full book review >