Search Results: "Jules Verne"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 1997

"Lottman does his best to inject a bit of drama into his subject's rather quiet life, examining every small incident he can unearth, but in the end there is little here to keep even the most dedicated Verne fan awake."
An unsurprising biography of one of the founding fathers of science fiction, by a specialist in French literature and culture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 1993

"B&w photos, engravings, etc.—very dark; bibliography (a dozen books, undifferentiated between sources and books for young readers); notes; index. (Nonfiction. 11+)"
At 22, Verne was so poor that his dinner often consisted of prunes; by the time he was 50, he was rich and widely lauded. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 15, 1965

"Good point, good book."
This is an excellent biography of the Frenchman who masterminded the 19th century classics of science fiction and whose imaginative projections of submarine life and aerial conquest have become matters of fact in the mid-20th century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 4, 1993

"In the Iona and Peter Opie Library of Children's Literature series, with an introduction by Iona Opie. (Fiction. 10+)"
The first English translation of a story in which a rat family makes its way up the evolutionary (and social) ladder from oyster to human—through ``transmigrations of souls''—under the auspices of good fairy Firmenta (i.e., the heavens) and villain Gardafour (``guard the furnace'': hellfire). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PARIS IN THE TWENTIETH CENTURY by Jules Verne
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Dec. 1, 1996

"Hardly H.G. Wells, or even Verne at his best, but, still, quite a welcome—and startling—curiosity."
Verne's recently discovered first novel, written over 125 years ago and now smoothly translated from its French edition by the poet Richard Howard. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAGELLANIA by Jules Verne
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2001

"Interesting philosophically and geopolitically, and a window on a world a hundred years gone: a distinctive tale still has the power to charm and provoke."
Nearly a century after his death, five "lost" manuscripts of Verne are part of the SF master's return to active publication (Invasion of the Sea, The Mysterious Island, both 2002). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AROUND THE WORLD IN EIGHTY DAYS by Jules Verne
ADVENTURE
Released: May 1, 1996

"A good way to put both book and story in context for young armchair travelers. (Fiction. 11-15)"
Around The World In Eighty Days ($23.99; $15.99 paper; May 1996; 296 pp.; 0- 670-86917-1; paper 0-670-86793-4): An entry in The Whole Story series, this is an annotated edition of the 1873 classic, printed on coated stock and enhanced by both atmospheric new paintings and hundreds of postage-stampsized 19th-century photos and prints. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MYSTERIOUS ISLAND by Jules Verne
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 9, 2002

"Nebraska). (75 b&w reproductions of original illustrations)"
The first of two new unabridged translations of what Roland Barthes called Verne's "almost perfect" novel, currently only available in its 19th-century incarnation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (AS HERSELF) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Though not as distinctive as Clementine, Jules eventually settles, becoming a vulnerable and likable heroine. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Seven-year-old Jules has been asked to audition for a television commercial. But she needs help. Will she turn to her know-it-all ex-best friend for it? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WAITING FOR JULES by Tamara N. Houston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"A fairy tale riddled with minor characters whose quirks are more intriguing than Jules' quest for a conventional romance."
A cab ride home from the airport gives Jules Sinclair time to reflect. After an argument filled with accusations and recriminations, will Marcus be home? Or has she lost him forever? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INVASION OF THE SEA by Jules Verne
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 1, 2001

"Clear, readable translation of a minor but prescient adventure novel, with useful annotations, a brief Verne biography, and 44 b&w illustrations from the original French edition."
The revival for the French father of science fiction that began with the discovery of his unpublished Paris in the Twentieth Century (1996) continues with the first English translation of this short novel, the last Verne (1828-1905) published during his lifetime. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (IN DRAMA-RAMA) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 27, 2013

"Still, Jules is a lovable star with good friends and a supportive family, living a frenetic city life that is constantly entertaining. Fans of Clementine and Gooney Bird Greene will look forward to the next book in the series. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Second-grader Jules Bloom returns for another audition (Starring Jules (as Herself), 2013)—this time for a television sitcom—with New York City-sized tension and hilarity. Read full book review >