Search Results: "Jules Witcover"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 18, 1997

"As an overview of 1968, several books, notably Stephen Spender's The Year of the Young Rebels and Todd Gitlin's The Sixties, cover the same ground, and much better."
An overblown snapshot of a tumultuous year. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NO WAY TO PICK A PRESIDENT by Jules Witcover
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 1999

"A nice contribution, but Witcover is chronicling an apathy-generating system his efforts are unlikely to overcome."
A pleasantly informative look at a depressingly familiar topic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 1, 1992

"Horror, farce, and tragedy—in one vivid, if not particularly enlightening, package."
From John Adams to Dan Quayle, the vice-presidency seems the best refutation of the theory of evolution. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"We'll see, come 2004. In the meanwhile, a useful primer."
Right in time for the 2004 campaign: a sprawling, capable history of a party that, like its opposition (see Lewis Gould's Grand Old Party, above), has long had trouble deciding just what its politics are. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AMERICAN VICE PRESIDENCY by Jules Witcover
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"Extremely impressive research informs this valuable book of American history."
A veteran journalist who has published copiously about the vice presidency offers an exhaustive survey. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2005

"Witcover is not often deeply reflective—not until the final chapter—and some passages have a cut-and-paste character, but his intimate accounts of American politics over the past 50 years are always engaging, ever intelligent."
A veteran political journalist narrates his journey from typewriter to Internet, from JFK to GWB. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 1997

"Lottman does his best to inject a bit of drama into his subject's rather quiet life, examining every small incident he can unearth, but in the end there is little here to keep even the most dedicated Verne fan awake."
An unsurprising biography of one of the founding fathers of science fiction, by a specialist in French literature and culture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 1993

"B&w photos, engravings, etc.—very dark; bibliography (a dozen books, undifferentiated between sources and books for young readers); notes; index. (Nonfiction. 11+)"
At 22, Verne was so poor that his dinner often consisted of prunes; by the time he was 50, he was rich and widely lauded. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 15, 1965

"Good point, good book."
This is an excellent biography of the Frenchman who masterminded the 19th century classics of science fiction and whose imaginative projections of submarine life and aerial conquest have become matters of fact in the mid-20th century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (AS HERSELF) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Though not as distinctive as Clementine, Jules eventually settles, becoming a vulnerable and likable heroine. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Seven-year-old Jules has been asked to audition for a television commercial. But she needs help. Will she turn to her know-it-all ex-best friend for it? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARRING JULES (IN DRAMA-RAMA) by Beth Ain
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 27, 2013

"Still, Jules is a lovable star with good friends and a supportive family, living a frenetic city life that is constantly entertaining. Fans of Clementine and Gooney Bird Greene will look forward to the next book in the series. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Second-grader Jules Bloom returns for another audition (Starring Jules (as Herself), 2013)—this time for a television sitcom—with New York City-sized tension and hilarity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WAITING FOR JULES by Tamara N. Houston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"A fairy tale riddled with minor characters whose quirks are more intriguing than Jules' quest for a conventional romance."
A cab ride home from the airport gives Jules Sinclair time to reflect. After an argument filled with accusations and recriminations, will Marcus be home? Or has she lost him forever? Read full book review >