Search Results: "Julia Cameron"


BOOK REVIEW

FLOOR SAMPLE by Julia Cameron
NON-FICTION
Released: May 4, 2006

"An absorbing narrative revealing a woman of extraordinary energy, drive and confidence."
New Age writing guru Cameron (The Dark Room, 1998, etc.) tells of her frenetic, peripatetic life as screenwriter, playwright, novelist, columnist and poet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOZART’S GHOST by Julia Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Agreeable light entertainment."
Ghost meets girl…girl meets boy…boy irritates girl…ghost intervenes…boy gets girl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DARK ROOM by Julia Cameron
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 1, 1998

"Don't hope for a sequel; Elliot's probably glad to escape this installment alive. (First printing of 50,000)"
From the first page of her first mystery, Cameron (the nonfiction The Artist's Way, 1995, etc.) wastes no time establishing who's in charge, and how he feels about it: Chicago police detective Elliot Mayo is frankly revolted by the murder of photographer/cokehead/playboy Jack Nesbitt, especially after somebody sends some closeup photographs of a 12-year-old's breasts to the department with an injunction to ask their owner about Jack's death. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JULIA GLASS
by Kerri Arsenault

Julia Glass, author of A House Among the Trees, speaks to me wearing sweaty badminton clothes. Marblehead, Massachusetts, where she lives, operates one of the few remaining private badminton clubs—Gut‘n Feathers—in the United States. “If I have a routine, it’s not writing; it’s playing badminton as often as I can,” she says. Her love of the sport mirrors the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO MAKE AWESOME COMICS by Neill Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"A friendly and engaging orientation for emerging comics creators, although the activity pages make this one for home collections rather than library use. (appendices) (Graphic nonfiction. 6-10)"
A cheerful guide offering a beginner's course in designing comics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROOK by Sharon Cameron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 28, 2015

"Full of derring-do and double crosses, this romantic adventure is thoroughly engrossing. (Science fiction. 13-18)"
A clever homage to The Scarlet Pimpernel, set in a post-apocalyptic future Europe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: Oct. 9, 2007

"Cameron's power is his ability to distill a particular world and social experience with great specificity while still allowing the reader to access the deep well of our shared humanity. (Fiction. YA)"
Cameron's meticulously voiced novel begins as a comedy of manners, wittily disarticulating a certain class of New Yorker, so it takes the reader awhile to catch onto the fact that it's actually a story about the psychological pain that comes from loneliness and the difficulty in making emotional connections. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GLORIA'S WAY by Ann Cameron
Released: March 9, 2000

"Great fun, with subtly placed, positive messages that never take center stage. (b&w illustrations) (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Cameron's Huey and Julian stories (More Stories Huey Tells, 1997, etc.) are in for a treat as Gloria, their friend from those tales, gets a book of her own and graciously allows the two brothers to share it . Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLIBRÍ by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 11, 2003

"Painful, beautiful, and ultimately triumphant. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Twelve-year-old Tzunún barely remembers her life before Uncle, but what she does remember features a loving mother and father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROPERTY OF THE STATE by Bill Cameron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 7, 2016

"An eminently satisfying series opener for mystery fans who want their downtrodden detectives to be appealing, clever, and unafraid of action. (Mystery. 14-18)"
Foster teen Joey narrates events as he slowly uncovers a convoluted mystery, with a soupçon of romance added for spice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUT COMES THE EVIL by Stella Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2015

"Many characters but little character development, and the story luxuriates in gruesome details. Though Cameron (Second to None, 2012, etc.) obviously loves her characters, she assumes the reader's interest rather than earns it."
Two friends try to turn small-town gossip into a reasonable murder investigation when they discover a body and some clues that spur them on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Lordlings of Worship and Their Catastrophic Mindrides by Cameron Leigh
Released: Jan. 15, 2013

"A promising, if extraordinarily detailed, novel from a promising new talent."
Leigh's 590-page debut thriller, the first of a planned trilogy, may remind some readers of The Da Vinci Code—except that Dan Brown's book was not nearly so ambitious. Read full book review >