Search Results: "Julia Child"


BOOK REVIEW

MY LIFE IN FRANCE by Julia Child
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 7, 2006

"Charming, idiosyncratic and much fun—just like its author, who is very much alive in these pages. A blessing for lovers of France, food and fine writing."
"Ooh, those lovely roasted, buttery French chickens, they were so good and chickeny!" Anyone who remembers the iconic, deceased Julia Child (1912-2004)—or perhaps Dan Aykroyd's affectionate imitation of her—will recognize the singular voice. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JULIA GLASS
by Kerri Arsenault

Julia Glass, author of A House Among the Trees, speaks to me wearing sweaty badminton clothes. Marblehead, Massachusetts, where she lives, operates one of the few remaining private badminton clubs—Gut‘n Feathers—in the United States. “If I have a routine, it’s not writing; it’s playing badminton as often as I can,” she says. Her love of the sport mirrors the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

HOT NEW RELEASES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

This week I’m wishing desperately to be at BEA, but since I can’t manage that, I’m immersing myself in some great reads. You too?

Over the past month, I was lucky enough to get my hands (and ears) on a few new releases from some favorite authors.

If you’ve had the chance to read any of these, I’d ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT PLANET ARE YOU FROM, CLARICE BEAN? by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2001

The indomitable heroine of two previous picture books returns to provide readers with her own take on environmentalism: "Nature is something I know lots about. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM TOO ABSOLUTELY SMALL FOR SCHOOL by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2004

"A fine way to banish those First Day jitters. (Picture book. 5-7)"
The dynamic sibling duo of I Will Never Not Ever Eat a Tomato (2000) is back for another engaging round of give-and-take. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I WILL NEVER, NOT EVER, EAT A TOMATO by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"Perhaps not, but even younger readers who find Lola's stance perfectly reasonable will join her in this engagingly playful head game. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Poster child for Picky Eaters of the World, Lola declares that she won't touch carrots, peas, potatoes, fish sticks, or, most especially, tomatoes, until her brother Charlie sets her straight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RUBY REDFORT LOOK INTO MY EYES by Lauren Child
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 27, 2012

"Fizzy style fails to buoy a slow-moving plot. Fans of Child's other works, however, will likely still be interested in checking this one out. (Mystery. 9-14)"
Ruby Redfort, the young sleuth in an imagined book series adored by Child's already-established character Clarice Bean, begins her very own series with this lukewarm mystery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MATCHUP by Lee Child
edited by Lee Child
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2017

"This box holds a chocolate or two that will be to everyone's liking."
Even readers who don't love short stories will find this anthology, starring some of the world's best-known thriller writers and most-loved characters, appealing and varied. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RUNNING BLIND by Lee Child
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 2000

"Even readers who identify the criminal, motive, and modus operandi early on (and many readers will) can plan to stay up long past bedtime and do some serious hyperventilating toward the end."
Soldier-turned-soldier-of-fortune Jack Reacher goes after a serial killer in a conventionally but nonetheless deeply satisfying whodunit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WITHOUT FAIL by Lee Child
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 2001

"Relentlessly suspenseful and unexpectedly timely: just the thing for Dick Cheney's bedside reading wherever he's keeping himself these days."
When the newly elected Vice President's life is threatened, the Secret Service runs to nomadic soldier-of-fortune Jack Reacher (Echo Burning, 2001, etc.) in this razor-sharp update of The Day of the Jackal and In the Line of Fire that's begging to be filmed. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FACING DOWN FEARS WITH HELEN OXENBURY
by Julie Danielson

If you are a fan of the work of British illustrator Helen Oxenbury, now is a good time. “Helen Oxenbury has charmed generations of children with her award-winning illustrations,” says one. “Helen Oxenbury is among the most popular and critically acclaimed illustrators of all time,” says another. I refer to the jacket-flap bios of two brand-new Oxenbury-illustrated picture ...


Read the full post >