Search Results: "Julia Kuo"


BOOK REVIEW

DAISY AND JOSEPHINE by Melissa Gilbert
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"A canine penchant for French couture adds unexpected verve to this otherwise fairly ordinary tale of a lonely girl. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Daisy's new puppy may refuse to play fetch, chase or catch, but she's a fashionista who soon wins Daisy's heart. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GO, LITTLE GREEN TRUCK! by Roni Schotter
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 16, 2016

"A familiar trope with a subtle, ecological twist. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A little green truck is the farm's best work truck, until he is replaced by a bigger and better model. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA LEE AND THE APPLE PIE DREAM by Jenny Han
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 4, 2011

"Final art not seen. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Dreaming of being the Apple Pie Princess in her town's Apple Blossom Festival, Korean-American third grader Clara Lee defies a classmate who claims to be more deserving and bravely makes a speech in front of the whole school to win the honor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SOUND OF SILENCE by Katrina Goldsaito
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"An inviting tale that will stretch inquisitive and observant young minds—and may even lead children to a greater appreciation of that golden commodity, silence. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Like a Zen koan, this story draws readers' attention to silence, that vanishingly rare attribute of modern family life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAN WHO DAMMED THE YANGTZE by Alex Kuo
Released: June 16, 2011

"A sterile account of parallel lives."
This so-called mathematical novel from the Chinese-American poet and novelist (A Chinaman's Chance, 2011, etc.) is meta-fiction that tracks two linked characters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

READING WITH PATRICK by Michelle  Kuo
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 11, 2017

"Thoughtfully provocative reading."
The story of a mutually transformative friendship between the author and a black student she met as a Teach for America volunteer in Arkansas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOT.BOMB by J. David Kuo
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 2001

"Slightly better than average: a cautionary business tale for readers of Forbes and Fortune."
Or, how to lose a gazillion dollars in ten easy lessons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOUSE BY MOUSE by Julia Noonan
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2003

"Softly muted and whimsical watercolor illustrations accompany the inventive and lyrical text that offers more emphasis on adventure than counting. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Ten mice, sporting a variety of outfits, come together one by one for an exciting afternoon of fun. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JULIA GLASS
by Kerri Arsenault

Julia Glass, author of A House Among the Trees, speaks to me wearing sweaty badminton clothes. Marblehead, Massachusetts, where she lives, operates one of the few remaining private badminton clubs—Gut‘n Feathers—in the United States. “If I have a routine, it’s not writing; it’s playing badminton as often as I can,” she says. Her love of the sport mirrors the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

HOT NEW RELEASES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

This week I’m wishing desperately to be at BEA, but since I can’t manage that, I’m immersing myself in some great reads. You too?

Over the past month, I was lucky enough to get my hands (and ears) on a few new releases from some favorite authors.

If you’ve had the chance to read any of these, I’d ...


Read the full post >