Search Results: "Julia Marshall"


BOOK REVIEW

WHEN DAD SHOWED ME THE UNIVERSE by Ulf Stark
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Gentle humor pervades this father-son tale in the nicest way. (Picture book. 4-9)"
A small boy and his father take an evening walk in this Swedish import first published in 1998 but only now translated and published in the United States. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FIRST CASE by Ulf Nilsson
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2015

"The only sadness is that Volume 2 isn't immediately available. (Mystery. 4-10)"
Who are the scurvy thieves loose in the woodland district? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE IS PIM? by Lena Landström
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2015

"Pom is the elemental Everychild—and just darlin'. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Dog takes Pom's Pim in this return of one of the most heart-gladdening creatures on Earth (Pom and Pim, 2014).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POM AND PIM by Lena Landström
Kirkus Star
by Lena Landström, illustrated by Olof Landström, translated by Julia Marshall
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"A perfect primer for the existential philosophy required for a small one to make it through the day. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Pom and his potato-shaped rag doll, Pim, make their way through the ups and downs of everyday life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY HAPPY LIFE by Rose Lagercrantz
by Rose Lagercrantz, illustrated by Eva Eriksson, translated by Julia Marshall
Released: April 1, 2013

"A sweet read for both children and their parents, who may be grateful at the reminder of the emotional complexity lurking behind their children's smiles. (Fiction. 6-10)"
A chapter book about childhood depression paradoxically delivers a very happy reading experience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY DOG MOUSE by Eva  Lindström
Kirkus Star
by Eva Lindström, illustrated by Eva Lindström, translated by Julia Marshall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A poignant tale tenderly executed in both illustrations and words. (Picture book. 3-8)"
A white child takes an old dog for a walk in this Swedish import (by way of New Zealand). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIFE ACCORDING TO DANI by Rose Lagercrantz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Another sterling early chapter book by this duo. (Fiction. 5-8)"
Dani, spending the summer with her best friend, Ella, while her father recuperates from an accident, is dismayed to discover that he has a girlfriend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN I AM HAPPIEST by Rose Lagercrantz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"More likely to create anxiety than to cultivate empathy or sympathy. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Forty-six pages into Dani's happy, second-to-last day at school, her teacher takes her out to the hallway, newly informed that "Your father has been run over….He was biking to work." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY HEART IS LAUGHING by Rose Lagercrantz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"This deeply respectful book validates and celebrates the daily challenges of being a child in today's world. (Fiction. 5-8)"
A forthright early chapter book about resilience. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SUMMER RERUNS
by Julie Danielson

It may be that, here at my weekly Kirkus column, I’ve sung the praises many times before of French author Daniel Pennac’s The Rights of the Reader, originally published in 1992. This is to say that, if I’m being redundant, I apologize, but it is a wonderful book. To call it a guide to reading, which it actually is, makes ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

JULIA GLASS
by Kerri Arsenault

Julia Glass, author of A House Among the Trees, speaks to me wearing sweaty badminton clothes. Marblehead, Massachusetts, where she lives, operates one of the few remaining private badminton clubs—Gut‘n Feathers—in the United States. “If I have a routine, it’s not writing; it’s playing badminton as often as I can,” she says. Her love of the sport mirrors the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

HOT NEW RELEASES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

This week I’m wishing desperately to be at BEA, but since I can’t manage that, I’m immersing myself in some great reads. You too?

Over the past month, I was lucky enough to get my hands (and ears) on a few new releases from some favorite authors.

If you’ve had the chance to read any of these, I’d ...


Read the full post >