Search Results: "Julia Spencer-Fleming"


BOOK REVIEW

A FOUNTAIN FILLED WITH BLOOD by Julia Spencer-Fleming
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 7, 2003

"As Russ demands of the former Army pilot who's about to save his life: 'What kind of priest are you anyway?'"
One gay-bashing could be a prank, and two hardly constitute a pattern worth making a public announcement that may only encourage more of the same. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SHALL NOT WANT by Julia Spencer-Fleming
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 10, 2008

"The messiest of Clare's six cases to date, though fans will doubtless forgive her trespasses."
Now that his wife Linda has died (All Mortal Flesh, 2007), Millers Kill Police Chief Russ Van Alstyne is finally ready to confess his love to Rev. Clare Fergusson. Or is he? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL MORTAL FLESH by Julia Spencer-Fleming
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 9, 2006

"The fifth installment of this underrated series tops even the pyrotechnics of To Darkness and to Death (2005)—even as it leaves you wondering whether it'll be the last we'll hear of Russ and Clare."
The long-simmering unconsummated romance between Rev. Clare Fergusson and Millers Kill Police Chief Russ Van Alstyne comes to a boil when Russ's wife is killed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THROUGH THE EVIL DAYS by Julia Spencer-Fleming
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 5, 2013

"Spencer-Fleming, whose record has shown that she's not afraid to pile on the plot complications, ladles out threats, betrayal, redemption and seriously bad weather until Clare loses track of how many times her honeymoon has been interrupted by bad guys who've held her husband at gunpoint."
Now that they're married and pregnant—not in that order—Episcopal priest Clare Fergusson and Millers Kill Police Chief Russ Van Alstyne (Once Was a Soldier, 2011, etc.) are in for the honeymoon from hell. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TO DARKNESS AND TO DEATH by Julia Spencer-Fleming
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 7, 2005

"The results show that God has both endless compassion for mortal screw-ups—and a terrific sense of humor."
Quite a departure for Episcopalian priest Clare Ferguson and the man who loves her, police chief Russ Van Alstyne (Out of the Deep I Cry, 2004, etc.): a Rube Goldberg plot that crams all manner of secrets and crimes into the most hectic 21 hours in Millers Kill's history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE WAS A SOLDIER by Julia Spencer-Fleming
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 26, 2011

"Spencer-Fleming's most ambitious book yet—think The Best Years of Our Lives with corpses—can't quite live up to its lofty goals. But fans will continue to be impressed by her resourceful determination never to tell the same story twice."
The good news is that Rev. Clare Fergusson has come home from her Mideastern deployment as Maj. Fergusson to a marriage proposal from Millers Kill Police Chief Russ Van Alstyne. But that's about the extent of the good news. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN THE BLEAK MIDWINTER by Julia Spencer-Fleming
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 25, 2002

"Even so, nothing that happens here—certainly no impression made by the stock suspects—upstages that staple of the neo-conventional mystery, the unconsummated romance between the amateur sleuth and the loyal cop, whose convenient wife remains strategically offstage throughout."
This winner of the 2001 Malice Domestic Award for Best First Traditional Mystery is actually something of a hybrid. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUT OF THE DEEP I CRY by Julia Spencer-Fleming
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 12, 2004

"Despite an anemic mystery, the most ambitious of Clare's first three cases (A Fountain Filled with Blood, 2003, etc.) scores as an unblinking account of betrayal, revenge, and human frailty."
The Lenten season, together with a telling dose of local history, brings new trials for Rev. Claire Fergusson and her rumored lover, Millers Kill (NY) police chief Russ Van Alstyne. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JULIA GLASS
by Kerri Arsenault

Julia Glass, author of A House Among the Trees, speaks to me wearing sweaty badminton clothes. Marblehead, Massachusetts, where she lives, operates one of the few remaining private badminton clubs—Gut‘n Feathers—in the United States. “If I have a routine, it’s not writing; it’s playing badminton as often as I can,” she says. Her love of the sport mirrors the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

HOT NEW RELEASES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

This week I’m wishing desperately to be at BEA, but since I can’t manage that, I’m immersing myself in some great reads. You too?

Over the past month, I was lucky enough to get my hands (and ears) on a few new releases from some favorite authors.

If you’ve had the chance to read any of these, I’d ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EVERYTHING BOOK by Denise Fleming
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"It truly has everything. (Picture book. 1-4)"
Beginning with a brilliantly colored rooster greeting the day in "Good Morning to You!" and concluding with a mother hen cuddling her chicks in "Good Night," this compilation of rhymes, games, and learning will keep young readers busy from sunup to sundown. Read full book review >