Search Results: "Juliet Y. Mark"


BOOK REVIEW

UNFALLEN by Juliet Y. Mark
Released: Oct. 9, 2012

"A promising, if slightly overstuffed, start to an ambitious fantasy series."
This debut fantasy novel asks: What if Adam refused the apple, and only Eve was ejected from the Garden of Eden? Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MARK SUNDEEN
by Megan Labrise

Writing about the simple life proved anything but for immersive journalist Mark Sundeen.

His original manuscript—an unadorned account of three couples who, in varying ways, have opted out of everyday American consumerism—was accepted and revised when he withdrew it from publisher Riverhead Books.

“I had a close friend read it, call me, and say, I stopped reading at page 175 ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

NOTHING LIKE APRIL OR PARIS
by Bobbi Dumas

Yay! April’s here!

There’s something special about April, with its exuberant celebration of spring—flowers blooming, trees blossoming, leaves unfurling, reaching for the sun.

I can appreciate that feeling, and love that this is the time of year when we can step outside and tilt our faces up to the sky and feel the warmth of the season on our skin ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHEN CHAOS REIGNS
by Julie Danielson

As I’ve said many times here at Kirkus, I love to follow picture book imports, and one thing I appreciate about them is the amount of chaos they’re willing to let in. If you live in America and primarily write about picture books from this country, as I do, along comes an import, and it’s often an altogether different beast ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

A-MAZE-ING MINOTAUR by Juliet Rix
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2014

"A middling treatment all around. (Picture book/myth. 6-9)"
With the help of a beautiful princess, Theseus solves the mystery of the Labyrinth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CALLER by Juliet Marillier
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 9, 2014

"Medieval fantasy with a strong female lead and a definitive ending: That's enough to keep plenty of readers happy. (map) (Historical fantasy. 13 & up)"
The third and final entry in the Shadowfell trilogy delivers exactly what readers want without feeling either easy or obvious. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CYBELE’S SECRET by Juliet Marillier
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 9, 2008

"However, despite these weaknesses, genuine emotion and Paula's alluring love story create a memorable page-turner. (Romanian glossary, not seen) (Fantasy. 11-14)"
Bewitching despite flaws, this companion to Wildwood Dancing (2007) picks up six years later. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CONFESSIONS OF MARIE ANTOINETTE by Juliet Grey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"An admirable if stiff portrait of a noble heart."
The final volume of Grey's Marie Antoinette trilogy (Becoming Marie Antoinette, 2011, etc.) grimly details the queen's sad and, to contemporary eyes, terribly unjust end. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DROP DEAD GORGEOUS by Juliet Lyons
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"A tad superficial, but at least it doesn't take itself too seriously."
A woman gives up on human men to give vampires a try, namely in the form of a hot, blond, and fanged detective. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RUNAWAY DAUGHTER by Juliet Philip
Released: Dec. 17, 2013

"An extremely memorable and winning YA tale of the perseverance dreams require."
A coming-of-age novella in which a young girl dreams of leaving India. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOXMASK by Juliet Marillier
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2004

"Slow-moving, but emotionally charged."
Sequel to Marillier's Wolfskin (2000), following the children of the previous novel's main characters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CYCLE OF LIES by Juliet Macur
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 4, 2014

"Solid sports journalism, though perhaps in the service of an unworthy cause—and, cautionary tale aside, you can bet the chemists are working on something new for the next generation of racers to take."
The definitive—well, until the next exposé comes along—account of cycling champion and charlatan Lance Armstrong's well-oiled career and its sordid collapse. Read full book review >