Search Results: "K. Anne Russell"


BOOK REVIEW

BUDDY'S TAIL by K. Anne Russell
Released: April 8, 2011

"A welcome addition to the canine canon for young readers."
All dogs may not go to heaven, but MacKenzie and her friends—loyal and kindhearted pups—earn their places in Haven by standing up for justice, even when it gets them in mortal trouble. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELLA AND THE NAUGHTY LION by Anne Cottringer
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"Cottringer's first book adds little to the burgeoning canon of titles about a new baby in the house, but the language is vigorous and the telling is sharp. (Picture book. 4-8)"
``The day Ella's mother came home with baby Jasper, a lion slipped through the door,'' an alter ego on the loose. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIVED THROUGH THIS by Anne K. Ream
NON-FICTION
Released: April 15, 2014

"A sad reality graced with hope, humanity and compassion."
The atrocity of sexual abuse as told by a captivating, diverse collective of survivors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Tale of Old Man Fischer by Russell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 16, 2014

"A capably written, genre-bending story filled with creepy-crawlies and refreshingly curious humans."
Neighborhood lore becomes a frightening reality for a young boy who dares to trespass on the property of Old Man Fischer in this debut mystery. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LIKING THE UNLIKABLE
by Leila Roy

I know it’s not cool to define yourself by a boy. Girls are supposed to be independent, these days. We should be Strong Female Characters, we should be tough and self-motivated and grrrrrls instead of girls. We’re supposed to run the world—girls—and look unapologetically into the camera. We don’t have to smile. We can cross our arms or curl our ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2011

"Fans of Brit humor will enjoy, but gird your suspension of disbelief; it's going to get a workout. (Animal fantasy. 9-12)"
Dotty Ida White's equally daffy rare-breed sheep return for more fleecy (mis)adventures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BROWN RABBIT IN THE CITY by Natalie Russell
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2010

"Her strength remains her mix of warmly colored drawings and prints that seem lifted right out of a street scene in the West Village and strike the perfect balance between hip and cozy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Following up on Moon Rabbit (2009), Russell brings the same charm to this sequel. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ALL THAT GLITTERS
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for The Gold-Son by Carrie Anne Noble

Cover Story: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave
BFF Charms: Oda Mae Brown, Natalie Imbruglia
Swoonworthy Scale: 4
Talky Talk: Folkloric
Bonus Factor: Leprechauns
Anti-Bonus Factor: Awful Grownups
Relationship Status: Hiding My Valuables

Cover Story: Oh, What a Tangled Web We Weave

When first we practice to deceive … or ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

ANNE HELEN PETERSEN
by Megan Labrise

When Anne Helen Petersen pitched Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud: The Rise and Reign of the Unruly Woman in 2015, famous female iconoclasts were having a massive moment.

Amy Schumer’s Trainwreck led the box office. Broad City and Girls ruled TV. Serena Williams dominated tennis. And Hillary Rodham Clinton on her way to becoming the 45th President of the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

LOST FOR WORDS by Natalie Russell
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2014

"While blander than many available options about writer's block, mustering voice or choosing an art form, this may also be more directly encouraging for readers who need the message, as the results seem so achievable. (Picture book. 4-7)"
An animal struggles toward self-expression, taking inspiration from his friends' creations and realizing he can choose his own art form. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"As immigration continues to be a major issue in America, this introduction to the Angel Island experience is overdue and, most of all, welcome. (source notes, selected bibliography, acknowledgments, picture credits) (Nonfiction. 9-14)"
Writing with clarity, Newbery Medal winner Freedman (Becoming Ben Franklin, 2013, etc.) explores a lesser-known period in U.S. immigration history, when the San Francisco Golden Gate was anything but welcoming. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE UNICORN THIEF by R.R. Russell
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2014

"But readers of the first will need to read this effort, and a third part seems sure to follow. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
In the sequel to Wonder Light (2013), Twig and Ben continue to protect the last free unicorn herd, on Washington's Lonehorn Island. Read full book review >