Search Results: "K. Dyble Thompson"


BOOK REVIEW

MY NAME IS MARIA ISABEL by Alma Flor Ada
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 30, 1993

"Pair this with Barbara Cohen's Molly's Pilgrim (1983) for a fine multicultural comparison. (Fiction. 7-10)"
When Mar°a Isabel Salazar L¢pez's family moves, there are already two Mar°as in her new class, so the teacher decides to call her Mary L¢pez. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTWHEEL TO THE MOON by Emanuel di Pasquale
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2003

"Sicilian landscape and custom fit as naturally into the poetry as the stones and the sea—young readers will find that landscape reflected in Thompson's black-and-white images, the pages nicely balanced between text and illustration. (Poetry. 7-12)"
A beautiful memoir of the poet's childhood in Sicily is conveyed in richly evocative verse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FARAWAY FOX by Jolene Thompson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Informative and empathetic. (Picture book. 4-7)"
When human encroachment eliminates a young fox's forest habitat, it searches to find a new home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A LOVE AFFAIR WITH LIFE AND SMITHSONIAN by Edward K. Thompson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 1995

"A disappointingly thin gruel that could have been a rich porridge. (40 illustrations, not seen)"
A dynamic man at the center of turbulent history has produced an autobiography as anemic as his magazines were vibrant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLEEPING WITH THE ENEMY by Lisa Dyble
Released: Oct. 10, 2012

"A superficial but entertaining romantic thriller."
In Dyble's debut novel, an amnesiac finds herself falling for a mysterious man as they investigate his brother-in-law's murder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IT'S ALIVE! by Ammi-Joan Paquette
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 27, 2017

"An engaging, entertaining compendium that will inform and confound. (photos, maps, bibliography, index) (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
With "fake news" now such a prominent topic of conversation, a book that asks readers to separate bizarre but true stories about nature from fake ones is quite timely. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LIKING THE UNLIKABLE
by Leila Roy

I know it’s not cool to define yourself by a boy. Girls are supposed to be independent, these days. We should be Strong Female Characters, we should be tough and self-motivated and grrrrrls instead of girls. We’re supposed to run the world—girls—and look unapologetically into the camera. We don’t have to smile. We can cross our arms or curl our ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SPACE DUMPLINS by Craig Thompson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 25, 2015

"A weird and wonderful intergalactic tale. (Graphic science fiction. 7-12)"
In a galaxy far, far away, a young girl and her motley crew of friends fight to save her father and the solar system from a destructive fleet of space whales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLANKIES by Carol Thompson
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"The cozy experience of love within these pages is palpable. (Board book. 1-2)"
A hymn of praise to a variety of blankies and security objects. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 10, 2012

"A broadly appealing mix of the tragic and droll, comforting, disturbing, exotic and universal, with nary a clinker in the bunch. (glossary) (Short stories. 11-13)"
A big but consistently engaging pro bono anthology of authors with direct or indirect Japanese "heritage or experience." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FALLING ANGELS by Colin Thompson
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2001

"The story works on several levels, but it is the fascinating pictures that will have young readers and listeners asking to see it again and again. (Picture book. 5-9)"
A gentle fantasy about seeing with your heart as well as your eyes. Read full book review >