Search Results: "K. Ryer Breese"


BOOK REVIEW

FUTURE IMPERFECT by K. Ryer Breese
FICTION
Released: April 1, 2011

"For fans of action movies and anti-hero comics who don't mind two-dimensional women. (Science fiction. 14 & up)"
A slick, fast-paced thriller with a comic-book aesthetic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAST CONTINUOUS by K. Ryer Breese
FANTASY
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"Intrigued readers should start with the first book, in which Ade, Vauxhall and their rapidly shifting universe are introduced. (Science fiction. 14 & up)"
Ade Patience, who spent most of Future Imperfect (2011) giving himself concussions in order to see the future and experience "the Buzz," now chases a new high and fights still more aspects of himself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Beauty of Holy Choices by Sarah J. Breese McCoy
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 19, 2015

"A short but thought-provoking look at how the choices the faithful make can refine their resemblances to God."
A series of meditations on the beauty of God's grace. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WIFE OF JOHN THE BAPTIST by K. Ford K.
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 20, 2014

"A slow-moving but well-written tale embroidering the life of one of Scripture's most charismatic figures."
This reimagining of John the Baptist's life gives the itinerate prophet a Greek wife who desperately wantshimto avert his dark destiny. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HITLIST by K. Rawson
Released: July 2, 2015

"A precise portrait of the teen zeitgeist that reassures readers that, despite indications to the contrary, the kids are all right."
An impulsive high school cyber-prank spirals dangerously out of control in Rawson's visceral, compelling debut YA novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HERE'S DEATH by K. Valberde
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 24, 2009

"A richly textured, thoughtful whodunit with a moral bite."
The London Blitz makes an almost perfect coverup for murder in this labyrinthine mystery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LENT HAND by Kathleen K.
Released: Nov. 12, 2011

"A comical, honest love story between two lost souls who complete each other."
A beautifully woven novel about an unusual boy and how he finds his way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 27, 2012

"A witty and wise read, especially for fans of tough-minded heroines."
A fictional account of one woman's struggle with marriage and faith. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SECRET LIFE OF A SUBMISSIVE by Sarah K
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 26, 2013

"A titillating story for the Fifty Shades set that plumbs the complex, intimate head space of the sexually submissive."
A British woman's epiphanic transformation from bored divorcee to kinky, sensual slave. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LIKING THE UNLIKABLE
by Leila Roy

I know it’s not cool to define yourself by a boy. Girls are supposed to be independent, these days. We should be Strong Female Characters, we should be tough and self-motivated and grrrrrls instead of girls. We’re supposed to run the world—girls—and look unapologetically into the camera. We don’t have to smile. We can cross our arms or curl our ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

FIREFIGHT by K. Wild
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2009

"Rather than sizzling, this work barely simmers. (Science fiction. 9-12)"
Super-powered teen follows video meme to dragon cult. Read full book review >