Search Results: "K.D. McEntire"


BOOK REVIEW

LIGHTBRINGER by K.D.  McEntire
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"Creative ideas outpace the writing quality. (Paranormal romance. 12-17)"
Wendy struggles to hold her personal life together while performing the Lightbringer duties of reaping souls of the dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEVER by K.D.  McEntire
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 14, 2013

"Easily the best book in the trilogy. (Fantasy. 12-17)"
Left powerless and near death in Reaper (2012), Wendy must unravel the mysteries of her Reaper family before the Lady Walker's evil plans reach fruition. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REAPER by K.D.  McEntire
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 24, 2012

"What could be interesting worldbuilding drowns in infelicitous prose and inexplicable machinations. (Fantasy. 13-15)"
Urban fantasy whose original ideas aren't sustained by the overall package. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

K.D. LANG by Victoria Starr
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1994

"Fans will have to turn back to lang's music to restoke their ardor, but they'll have learned a lot here."
Though Starr fails to develop great intimacy with her reticent subject, her biography, the first of the gifted pop star, will delight lang's legions of fans. k.d. lang is the androgynous lesbian animal-rights activist with the incredible voice who has captured mainstream success against all odds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TIMEPIECE by Myra McEntire
Released: June 12, 2012

"Clearly a sequel but still makes time fly by. (Paranormal thriller. 14 & up)"
Bad boy Kaleb Ballard struggles with his empathic powers and complicated relationships in this sequel to Hourglass (2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 16, 2017

"An intimate work with exceptional personal tales that overshadow the author's broader thoughts on sorrow."
A Baptist pastor recounts his experiences with grief in the wake of his wife's death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Payload by K.D. Adamson
FICTION & LITERATURE

"A global fraud tale remains laudable in its frankness; it's not what the baddies are hiding, but the frightening lengths they'll go to stay in power."
London investigators look into possible corporate fraud involving a shipping company that may retain secrets by resorting to murder in this debut thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INFINITYGLASS by Myra McEntire
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"Teen romance with, as Dr. Who (one of those pop-culture referents) might say, some 'timey-wimey stuff' makes for good fun. (Science fiction. 14 & up)"
Teens race to save time and space in this fast-paced third book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOURGLASS by Myra McEntire
Released: May 14, 2011

"The ambitious combination of paranormal romance and sci-fi action leads to some pacing problems but also makes for a refreshing read. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Troubled teen Emerson Cole returns to her Southern hometown and old "haunts" in this genre-blending story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAUGHTERS OF RUIN by K.D. Castner
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 5, 2016

"The slow, confusing opening does no favors, but eventually things speed up; anyone who makes it through the midpoint will end eager to see what happens next. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
Another book in the constant stream of read-alikes for Game of Thrones, with an actual body count. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Dec. 12, 2012

"A genuinely moving novel, and a certain feast for golf hounds."
Anderson, in his debutnovel, serves up the tale of golfer Kenji Watanabe as he steps beyond his life's tribulations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Paladin by K.D. Lassiter
Released: Sept. 23, 2009

"Nothing new, but the well-paced story rings with true Chicago verve, despite the book's unnecessary length and relative lack of suspense."
In this crime thriller, a female newspaper columnist receives notes from a vigilante who brags to her that he's taken it upon himself to clean up Chicago. Read full book review >