Search Results: "K.D. McEntire"


BOOK REVIEW

LIGHTBRINGER by K.D.  McEntire
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"Creative ideas outpace the writing quality. (Paranormal romance. 12-17)"
Wendy struggles to hold her personal life together while performing the Lightbringer duties of reaping souls of the dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEVER by K.D.  McEntire
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 14, 2013

"Easily the best book in the trilogy. (Fantasy. 12-17)"
Left powerless and near death in Reaper (2012), Wendy must unravel the mysteries of her Reaper family before the Lady Walker's evil plans reach fruition. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REAPER by K.D.  McEntire
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 24, 2012

"What could be interesting worldbuilding drowns in infelicitous prose and inexplicable machinations. (Fantasy. 13-15)"
Urban fantasy whose original ideas aren't sustained by the overall package. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LESSER GODS by K.D. Azariah-Kribbs
Released: July 24, 2011

"A rollicking, provocative read that hits a few speed bumps."
Man was thrown from paradise to suffer and die, but he took a book with him; now modern-day terrorists and the Vatican are willing to kill to possess it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 16, 2017

"An intimate work with exceptional personal tales that overshadow the author's broader thoughts on sorrow."
A Baptist pastor recounts his experiences with grief in the wake of his wife's death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TIMEPIECE by Myra McEntire
Released: June 12, 2012

"Clearly a sequel but still makes time fly by. (Paranormal thriller. 14 & up)"
Bad boy Kaleb Ballard struggles with his empathic powers and complicated relationships in this sequel to Hourglass (2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Payload by K.D. Adamson
FICTION & LITERATURE

"A global fraud tale remains laudable in its frankness; it's not what the baddies are hiding, but the frightening lengths they'll go to stay in power."
London investigators look into possible corporate fraud involving a shipping company that may retain secrets by resorting to murder in this debut thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INFINITYGLASS by Myra McEntire
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"Teen romance with, as Dr. Who (one of those pop-culture referents) might say, some 'timey-wimey stuff' makes for good fun. (Science fiction. 14 & up)"
Teens race to save time and space in this fast-paced third book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOURGLASS by Myra McEntire
Released: May 14, 2011

"The ambitious combination of paranormal romance and sci-fi action leads to some pacing problems but also makes for a refreshing read. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Troubled teen Emerson Cole returns to her Southern hometown and old "haunts" in this genre-blending story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAUGHTERS OF RUIN by K.D. Castner
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 5, 2016

"The slow, confusing opening does no favors, but eventually things speed up; anyone who makes it through the midpoint will end eager to see what happens next. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
Another book in the constant stream of read-alikes for Game of Thrones, with an actual body count. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Dec. 12, 2012

"A genuinely moving novel, and a certain feast for golf hounds."
Anderson, in his debutnovel, serves up the tale of golfer Kenji Watanabe as he steps beyond his life's tribulations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Paladin by K.D. Lassiter
Released: Sept. 23, 2009

"Nothing new, but the well-paced story rings with true Chicago verve, despite the book's unnecessary length and relative lack of suspense."
In this crime thriller, a female newspaper columnist receives notes from a vigilante who brags to her that he's taken it upon himself to clean up Chicago. Read full book review >