Search Results: "K.G. Campbell"


BOOK REVIEW

THE MERMAID AND THE SHOE by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Although this luminous tale of self-discovery has echoes of 'The Little Mermaid,' like Minnow, it sings its own strong song. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Unlike her talented older sisters, a little mermaid feels disappointingly ordinary until her curiosity unveils her special skills. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LESTER'S DREADFUL SWEATERS by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Children forced to wear horrid clothing made by well-meaning relatives will laugh in sympathy with Lester. If Edward Gorey and Polly Horvath had a literary love child, this would be it. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Cousin Clara, who may or may not be related to the rest of the family, knits horrid sweaters at a breakneck speed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DYLAN THE VILLAIN by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 23, 2016

"Dylan may have his flaws, but he does his name proud. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Dylan Snivels wants to make a name for himself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLORA & ULYSSES by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"Original, touching and oh-so-funny tale starring an endearingly implausible superhero and a not-so-cynical girl. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
When a cynical comic-book fanatic discovers her own superhero, life becomes wonderfully supercharged. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHO WANTS A TORTOISE? by Dave Keane
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 19, 2016

"A sweet read-aloud for first-time tortoise owners. (Picture book. 5-8)"
A nameless, pigtailed, sassy child in a pink gossamer skirt wants only one birthday present: a puppy; in the box, however, is not a puppy but a tortoise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WEE SISTER STRANGE by Holly Grant
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"An enchanting bedtime tale to be read over and over again. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A young woodland child is on the hunt for a bedtime story in Grant and Campbell's debut collaboration. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 20, 2011

"A hysterical adventure-romance, with a distinctive voice and a strong protagonist, that takes a tumble at the critical moment."
A help-desk specialist at a bank in Virginia finds love and adventure while solving the mystery of who's hacking her company's computer network. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Albert Pendergast's Peculiar Parcel by K.G. Summers
Released: Dec. 30, 2014

"A sweet story for bullied kids but one that's far too text-heavy."
In Summers' debut picture book, a bully's classmates devise a plan to change his actions forever. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FINE LINE by K.G. Gross
Released: March 20, 1989

More raucous fun from the author of The Verdict (1980, written as Barry Reed): here, a retired cop stumbles into some nasty warfare and a lovely romance when his law-enforcement reflexes accidentally land him with a bag of syndicate loot at Kennedy Airport. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHERE THE WOLF PREYS by K.G. Benell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 25, 2013

"A satisfying romp for fans of period adventures."
A pulpy World War II spy thriller that explores the philosophical problem of evil. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG MACHINE by Scott Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"In his first outing as an author, Campbell shines. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A feel-good ride, full of droll artistic asides and an abundance of caring. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >