Search Results: "K.W. Jeter"


BOOK REVIEW

WOLF FLOW by K.W. Jeter
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 1992

"Gripping in patches, then, but the patches conceal a number of leaks."
Gritty, spare but rather empty horror yarn from the author of Dr. Adder, Farewell, Horizontal, Infernal Devices, etc. Vicious drug-dealer Aitch and his reluctant sidekick Charlie beat their erstwhile partner Mike, a doctor and drug addict, to a pulp, then throw him from a car in the high desert of eastern Oregon following an attempted double-cross. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 9, 1995

"Long-winded and aimless, with neither the gloomy brilliance of Scott nor the unsettling psychological qualms of Dick."
Ridley Scott's 1982 film noir, Blade Runner, was based on a Philip K. Dick novel, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIENDISH SCHEMES by K.W. Jeter
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 15, 2013

"An impressive enterprise that moves very, very slowly."
Belated sequel to Infernal Devices (1987), the iconic Victorian fantasy for which the author himself coined the term "steampunk." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOIR by K.W. Jeter
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Nov. 9, 1998

"Overall, it doesn't add up to anything in particular, but it's an uncommon experience nonetheless."
Another grimly dystopian, futuristic puzzler from the author of Blade Runner 2 (1995), etc. By the mid-21st century, the California coast is one vast city known as the Gloss, where it's perfectly okay to murder illegal immigrants so long as you notify the police beforehand. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEREK JETER PRESENTS NIGHT AT THE STADIUM by Phil Bildner
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 26, 2016

"A direct riff on Night at the Museum. Also, by now younger readers will barely remember Jeter as a player, so the lionization may need some explanation. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A young New York Yankees fan gets some unexpected help in his quest for an autograph from his favorite (ex) player. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING FROM NOTHING by K.W. Rust
Released: April 18, 2012

"Sure to please fans of the genre looking for the next great beach read, and the open ending hints at a third book in the Walton family soap opera."
In Rust's follow-up (Pot Luck, 2011), bumbling protagonist Jacob Walton navigates Hollywood's underbelly and uncovers hidden secrets as he tries to prove his ex-wife's innocence in a gruesome double homicide. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2012

"A hard, sobering look at what it really takes to bring live music to the fans."
Musical memoir from the owner of venerable Greenville, S.C., music venue The Handlebar. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 11, 2009

"Jeter overreaches, but he usefully exposes the underbelly of the free-market system."
Journalist Jeter indicts globalization. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABUNDANCE by Sena Jeter Naslund
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 3, 2006

"Naslund has done her homework, and imagined her complex, bewitching protagonist in persuasive depth and detail. The result is an exemplary historical novel."
The French queen traditionally portrayed as a vain, heartless epicurean tells her own story in the industrious and versatile Kentucky author's fourth novel (Four Spirits, 2003, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AHAB'S WIFE by Sena Jeter Naslund
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1999

"Excepting a few inconsequential false steps, a genuine epic of America: an inspired homage to one of our greatest writers that brilliantly reinterprets, and in many ways rivals, his masterpiece. (First printing of 150,000; Book-of-the-Month main selection; $150,000 ad/promo; author tour)"
Nothing in Naslund's previous fiction (The Disobedience of Water, p. 571, etc.) prepares us for this extraordinary tale: a ravishingly detailed re-creation of the worlds of 19th-century antebellum America and of Melville's seminal Moby Dick. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAIR BALL by Derek Jeter
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 18, 2017

"Fans of Jeter and Mantell's earlier books will find more of the same here. (Fiction. 8-10)"
Crises loom when a close friend suddenly turns standoffish, and the distraction affects young Derek's play on the field. Read full book review >