Search Results: "Karen Baicker"


BOOK REVIEW

PEA POD BABIES by Karen Baicker
ADVENTURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2003

"MPSLUGetc Baicker's tale will resonate with all youngsters, addressing their need to be recognized for their individuality. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Clearly aimed at multiple birth siblings, this comical tale reminds readers that just because babies, peapod or otherwise, look the same does not mean they are the same. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TUMBLE ME TUMBILY by Karen Baicker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"Inventive and fun. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Using the repetitive and sometimes nonsensical words that toddlers employ, this three-part tale imagines what babies and children might say when waking up, when eating, and when settling into bed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU CAN DO IT TOO! by Karen Baicker
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2005

"Sturdy, with the kid-friendly font and big, bright, fingerpaint-y pictures readers recognize as Wilson-Max, this one is positively sure to please. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Another charmer from the team that created I Can Do It Too! (2003). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I CAN DO IT TOO! by Karen Baicker
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2003

"The support of her family and congenial companions has the very finest of effects, and best of all, at the end of it all, is our little heroine's unspoiled and generous display of encouragement for one even smaller than she. (Picture book. 1½-4)"
Is there anything so heady or contagious as the shiny, new confidence of a child who has freshly mastered the everyday, but oh-so-difficult? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIMI by Carol Baicker-McKee
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2008

"Baicker-McKee is an author-illustrator to watch. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Little Mimi is a charming piglet with two favorite possessions: her bunny toy and her pet roly-poly bug, Frank. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KAREN ENGLISH
by Megan Labrise

The inspiration for Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Karen English’s latest middle grade novel all comes down to one unforgettable quote.

“We had a housekeeper,” says English, who was born in 1954 and grew up in Los Angeles, “and she pulled me aside one day, when I was about nine, and told me that, if I ever went ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CHEEP! CHEEP! by Julie Stiegemeyer
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2006

"Not exactly cheap, nor deep—but one to keep. (Picture book. 2-4)"
In this take on an elemental topic, the noises from a hatching egg, all alone in a frame on the left, wake three chicks napping on a roost on the facing page. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AN APPLE PIE FOR DINNER by Susan VanHecke
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2009

Granny Smith (get it?) decides to have an apple pie for dinner, but the one ingredient she lacks is—apples! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOW I'M BIG! by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 19, 2013

"Faux pas aside, it's a sweet celebration of leaving baby days behind. (Picture book. 2-5)"
There's a lot to like in this book about all things "big kid." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY FIRST RAMADAN by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

"While more details would be useful, the text is appropriate as an introduction. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-6)"
In this simple explanation of Ramadan, a little boy explains that he will be fasting for the first time. Read full book review >