Search Results: "Karen Haber"


BOOK REVIEW

UNIVERSE 2 by Robert Silverberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 15, 1992

"About average overall, with new ideas few and far between and a stale writers'-workshop air hanging over much of the proceedings."
The Universe series, comprising previously unpublished material, once edited by the late Terry Carr, was revived in 1990 by the Silverbergs (note the change in publisher from Universe 1). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KAREN ENGLISH
by Megan Labrise

The inspiration for Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Karen English’s latest middle grade novel all comes down to one unforgettable quote.

“We had a housekeeper,” says English, who was born in 1954 and grew up in Los Angeles, “and she pulled me aside one day, when I was about nine, and told me that, if I ever went ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

I DIDN'T KILL JESUS by Naomi Daniela Haber
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 20, 2013

"An elegy, a gift, a poignant record."
Haber, a first-time author and child ofHolocaust survivors, memorializes the hardships her family faced during World War II. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HERCULES AMSTERDAM by Melissa Glenn Haber
ADVENTURE
Released: June 1, 2003

"A quirky but engaging disquisition on number systems (most mice can't count past three) closes this witty, well-told beneath-the-floorboards adventure. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Haber turns Stuart Little inside out for an inventive, tongue-in-cheek children's debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 11, 2012

"An unbalanced dual narrative."
Author Haber (The Somali Pirate, 2009, etc.) presents a political thriller and war fantasy-cum-sci-fi dreamscape that follows the adventures of modern-day Somali pirate Noor Fayrus. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAR ANJALI by Melissa Glenn Haber
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 6, 2010

"This empowering tale is a great read for readers navigating the precarious waters of adolescent friendships. (Fiction. 9-13)"
Grief, bullying and friendships are the focus of this layered, complex tale from Haber. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MONSTER WHO LOST HIS MEAN by Tiffany Strelitz Haber
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 17, 2012

"Readers will chime in with the 'hip, hip hooray' this cuddly-looking creature earns when he finally embraces and celebrates his differences. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Although there are many stories about the perils and rewards of a monster's turning nice, this one goes a little further, touching upon being rejected by peers, being bullied and eventually being at ease with who one is. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WHAT'S THAT, GIRL? TIMMY'S FALLEN DOWN A WELL?
by Leila Roy

I can’t seem to get away from abandoned wells lately. And boy oh boy, they TERRIFY me, both in story form and in real life. They’re so ubiquitous in Maine that growing up, my parents were ALWAYS warning me about them, and then, years later, The Ring didn’t assuage my fears any.

In adult life, we had one in ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BABY ANIMAL FARM by Karen Blair
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 8, 2014

"Here's hoping these youngsters step out for another adventure very soon. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
A gaggle of tots meets various baby animals at the farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COUNTING KISSES by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2001

"A winsome tale perfect for cuddle time with a beloved little one. (Picture book. 1-5)"
A tired tot is bundled off to bed with a bevy of smooches from family members in this comforting countdown tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BABIES ON THE BUS by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 19, 2011

"A shame the trip has to end, but how about an encore? (Picture book. 1-4)"
A nursery-song staple is presented with lots of baby swagger. Read full book review >