Search Results: "Karen Haber"


BOOK REVIEW

UNIVERSE 2 by Robert Silverberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 15, 1992

"About average overall, with new ideas few and far between and a stale writers'-workshop air hanging over much of the proceedings."
The Universe series, comprising previously unpublished material, once edited by the late Terry Carr, was revived in 1990 by the Silverbergs (note the change in publisher from Universe 1). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KAREN ENGLISH
by Megan Labrise

The inspiration for Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Karen English’s latest middle grade novel all comes down to one unforgettable quote.

“We had a housekeeper,” says English, who was born in 1954 and grew up in Los Angeles, “and she pulled me aside one day, when I was about nine, and told me that, if I ever went ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

I DIDN'T KILL JESUS by Naomi Daniela Haber
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 20, 2013

"An elegy, a gift, a poignant record."
Haber, a first-time author and child ofHolocaust survivors, memorializes the hardships her family faced during World War II. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HERCULES AMSTERDAM by Melissa Glenn Haber
ADVENTURE
Released: June 1, 2003

"A quirky but engaging disquisition on number systems (most mice can't count past three) closes this witty, well-told beneath-the-floorboards adventure. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Haber turns Stuart Little inside out for an inventive, tongue-in-cheek children's debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 11, 2012

"An unbalanced dual narrative."
Author Haber (The Somali Pirate, 2009, etc.) presents a political thriller and war fantasy-cum-sci-fi dreamscape that follows the adventures of modern-day Somali pirate Noor Fayrus. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAR ANJALI by Melissa Glenn Haber
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 6, 2010

"This empowering tale is a great read for readers navigating the precarious waters of adolescent friendships. (Fiction. 9-13)"
Grief, bullying and friendships are the focus of this layered, complex tale from Haber. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MONSTER WHO LOST HIS MEAN by Tiffany Strelitz Haber
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 17, 2012

"Readers will chime in with the 'hip, hip hooray' this cuddly-looking creature earns when he finally embraces and celebrates his differences. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Although there are many stories about the perils and rewards of a monster's turning nice, this one goes a little further, touching upon being rejected by peers, being bullied and eventually being at ease with who one is. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WHAT'S THAT, GIRL? TIMMY'S FALLEN DOWN A WELL?
by Leila Roy

I can’t seem to get away from abandoned wells lately. And boy oh boy, they TERRIFY me, both in story form and in real life. They’re so ubiquitous in Maine that growing up, my parents were ALWAYS warning me about them, and then, years later, The Ring didn’t assuage my fears any.

In adult life, we had one in ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ROSIE GOES TO PRESCHOOL by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 7, 2015

"Rosie provides a delightful introduction to preschool that will soothe first-day worries. (Picture book. 2-5)"
An endearing guide shows young children what preschool will be like. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABY LOVES SPRING! by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"Cheery characters in bright spring shades usher in the season. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
A toddler in bright red galoshes and a rubber-duck yellow raincoat splashes through her world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS BABY by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 8, 2008

"This sparkly, lighthearted tale is bound to enchant hopeful young ladies-in-waiting. (Picture book. 1-5)"
Katz's latest work is ideal for the early-preschool and toddler set. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHAKE IT UP, BABY! by Karen Katz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 27, 2009

"And it makes noise. (1-2)"
A plastic rattle embedded in the spine promises a two-in-one literary treat. Read full book review >