Search Results: "Karen Hart"


BOOK REVIEW

BUTTERFLIES IN MAY by Karen Hart
FICTION
Released: May 1, 2006

"Ali's first-person voice is sometimes generic ('There's no way I'm pregnant—that's something that happens to other girls') but sweetly plainspoken. (Fiction. YA)"
A gentle simplicity infuses this story of white, middle-class teen pregnancy. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

KAREN ENGLISH
by Megan Labrise

The inspiration for Coretta Scott King Honor Award winner Karen English’s latest middle grade novel all comes down to one unforgettable quote.

“We had a housekeeper,” says English, who was born in 1954 and grew up in Los Angeles, “and she pulled me aside one day, when I was about nine, and told me that, if I ever went ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHAT'S THAT, GIRL? TIMMY'S FALLEN DOWN A WELL?
by Leila Roy

I can’t seem to get away from abandoned wells lately. And boy oh boy, they TERRIFY me, both in story form and in real life. They’re so ubiquitous in Maine that growing up, my parents were ALWAYS warning me about them, and then, years later, The Ring didn’t assuage my fears any.

In adult life, we had one in ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 2, 2012

"A hopeful novella that aims to provide the comfort of a prayer."
In Hart's (Zebra, 2012, etc.) novella, a guardian angel's growing curiosity leads her to tell lies to God. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES AND NEW DISCOVERIES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As I prepare for another year to roll in, I thought I’d share some of my favorite reads and new discoveries from 2016.

Some of you may know this has been a bit of a tumultuous year for me, but I was blessed to travel to a number of conferences, including RT, RWA, Chicago North’s Spring Fling, and ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HOLOGRAM by Karen Marie Hart
Released: April 16, 2012

"A fun family drama with a side of the mysterious and ghostly."
A family, haunted by loss, suspicion and restless spirits, plays the central role in Hart's debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MERWIN by Christopher Hart
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Merwin does pull a fast one on the zookeeper by claiming he is Merwin in disguise, giving a small 'what is reality' twist to the story, but it's not enough to elevate it beyond its one-note joke into an entertainment. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Cartoonist and bestselling author of drawing books, Hart's first picture book is goofy all over, but whether or not that is intentional is open to debate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEFORE YOU by Amber Hart
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 29, 2014

"This riff on West Side Story is torrid and heartfelt if not at all subtle, with a sequel featuring Faith's best friend still to come. (Romance. 14-18)"
The daughter of a pastor and a young man on the run from a Cuban drug cartel get past their initial animosity to fall in love in this sexy romance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Psychedelic  Bubble Gum by Bobby Hart
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 12, 2015

"A highly detailed autobiography by a unique figure in American cultural history that will interest historians and pop-culture aficionados alike."
Hart, in his debut, tells of how his jagged path through the music industry led to heartbreak—but also to happiness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RICH DIE YOUNG by Carolyn Hart
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 1, 2000

"Even devoted Hart fans will understand why this dinosaur remained in the closet for so long."
Long before she perfected her craft with her Annie Darling and Henrie O. series, Hart's learning curve included this simplistic early endeavor with a staunch but foolhardy heroine, a wisp of a romance, and perfunctory language skills. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FEVER IN THE DARK by Ellen Hart
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 31, 2017

"Hart (The Grave Soul, 2015, etc.) connects the events of the main story to a brief opening chapter presenting a savage murder, leading readers up to the attack and beyond while revealing the potential murderer's motive."
A video gone viral forces a couple to confront one member's past and decide whether it means they can still have a future together. Read full book review >